First RMT: Tormented

Tormented

Hey guys! I'm pretty new here, but I have a bit of experience with competitive battling, although not too much. I've made a few other offensively based teams, but I could never seem to get them to win consistently. This is my first time playing a more defensively based team, and it's based around the use of Tormentran, who I just recently discovered and immediately fell in love with. I made the rest of my team based around him, by covering his weaknesses and giving him some much needed support in order to be successful. The end result was much different than any other team I've used, although it definitely is in need of some help. (Coincidentally, it's also the only team I've used to not have any 5th gen pokemon in it.)

Team building process:

Obviously, you can have a team based around Tormentran without the Tormentran itself, so of course he's my first choice. I decided to start making my other choices by covering his type weaknesses with pokemon that'll be useful later.

To cover up his weakness, I went with Gastrodon and Gengar for several reasons. First, Gastrodon absorbs the water attacks that Heatran is weak to and get a boost from them. Gastrodon is also able to use Toxic and Scald to inflict status on anyone who isn't hit by the toxic spikes that I'll incorporate into the team later. Gengar, although it isn't bulky, can still manage to let toxic run its course with a SubDisable set. Next, I needed someone to actually set up the toxic spikes I need.

Forretress was quick to come to mind, and for good reason. Not only can it reliably set up toxic spikes, it can also use either spikes or stealth rock alongside it, and rapid spin away opposing hazards. Next, I decided that a phazer could be extremely useful to take advantage of the entry hazards provided by forretress.