Sun Offense

HERE COMES THE SUN

Hi guys, as I've said it before, I dislike the rain based metagame. I wouldn't mind seeing Kyogre on every team (I actually like Kyogre a lot) but the same FerroOgreScarfkia core (throw in some Tentacruel, Chansey and Gira-A/O) gets extremely boring.

I initially tried to counter it with Gastrodon, Xatu (direct counters to FerroOgre) and Deoxys-A (takes care of blobs and other support pokes) with good success (I posted two warstories on it). The problem was it only did just ok against other teams (HO was tough to beat) and my team itself was kinda stallish (style I don't like that much).

So, I tried to come up with a more offensive team that could hold its own against most rain teams. Of course, if I'm battling rain mostly, I had to deny their weather with a weather of my own so I went with sun. Now, I'm not very good at HO but my style is more of a balanced offense.

Thought process

Groudon was the first choice of course because of the permanent sun. It also gives some nice cushion for physical attacks directed to other teammates. I definitely wanted to have Deoxys-A as I think it is a very underrated pokemon and fits into an offensive theme.

With an all-out attacker I felt that I needed a more balanced, yet also powerful offensive pokemon. Since I was making a sun team, I thought Ho-Oh could work.

Obviously, if you are planning to use Ho-Oh effectively then you should be able to control hazards as well. The question was if I needed a spinner or Xatu. Xatu works fine most of the time but I wanted some hazards of my own as well so I went with Forretress because Volt Switch helps me to keep on the offensive.