Wrath of Breloom

Wrath of Breloom

Introduction:

Hello Smogon! This is not only my first RMT, but is also my first post here with you lovely fellow’s. I’m relatively new to competitive teambuilding, although I’ve been in the world of Pokémon since the beginning. I dabbled a little in PO during DPP, but I never fully understood some of the finer points of battling, and none of my teams amounted to much. I’ve been playing properly since the release of Gen 5. In terms of my style of play I enjoy balanced teams, and most of my teams have one or two defensive pivots, then an offensive core that compliments each other’s weaknesses.

My favourite Pokémon since it’s release in Gen 3 is Breloom. I love it. It’s featured, I’d say, in near to 90% of my teams. It looks awesome, it has a number of viable sets that keeps my opponents guessing, it has access to the sexiest move in the game Spore and it now has access to one of the most powerful abilities in the game in Technician. Needless to say now, he’s going to be the MVP of this team.

Teambuilding Process:

As I said above, Techniloom is going to be the centre of this team and therefore the Poké’s that I select are going to compliment him and allow him to wreak havoc. I decided to add Ferrothorn for his entry hazards, massive walling capabilities and Leech Seed.

Due to the massive presence of Rain in the BW2 metagame I decided to finish my defensive core with Jellicent. Awesome typing, superb stat spread and awesome synergy with Ferrothorn meant it had an automatic slot for this team.

I then decided I had need of a speedy sweeper, and decided to add Espeon. Despite it’s less-than-satisfactory typing, it has a sexy stat spread, decent move set and the ability Magic Bounce meaning I don’t need a rapid spinner. Beautiful.