Goal: go from crappy to awesome artist in 10 years. [itt he's pretty much there now]

Sarenji

leaf-faced
is a Battle Simulator Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
In sum: I am a horrible artist. But I've made a goal to become a great one.

I started out doing 30-minute speed sketches a day, but that turned out to be non-sustainable (I have a full-time job). But, hopefully, I'll continue drawing for an average of an hour a day for the next couple months, maybe years.

This thread is also a little kick so I don't stop drawing until it becomes habit.

I took inspiration from a dude who drew every day for ten years. Look at the first page. Then the last few pages. It's pretty rad. If he can do it, I sure as hell can too.

My eventual goal is to become better than yosinori. Hey, when you can dream, dream big.

Requests are welcome. Critique is better, because I'm basically doing deliberate practice without a teacher. (If you wanna teach me, contact me!)

I don't have a scanner so I can't show you any of my pencilwork. Sorry!

DAY 1 — Jan. 23, 2012

Reflections: I need work on stroke and consistent lines. All my lines look very shaky. I need to improve in pretty much everything.

DAY 2 — Jan. 24, 2012

Reflections: Got a little better with lines, I guess. I spend way too much time getting lines right. Hopefully it gets easier as you go on?

DAY 3 — Jan. 25, 2012

Reflections: I like being sketchy but there's something missing and I can't put my finger on it. Also, I have no idea how to make rocky textures/forest backgrounds. Also, I really need to practice hands.

DAY 4-5 — Jan. 26-27, 2012

Reflections: Oops. Come home from work less tired or take a nap!

DAY 6 — Jan. 28, 2012