1. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Kaphotics

    Kaphotics Remodeling Kitchens
    is a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    You should probably post the seed when you say something does something, but it is possible (albeit very rare).

    40-60 is the general range, there still can be outliers.
  2. Pokethan

    Pokethan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Been waiting for someone to give me an answer plz.
  3. Giorgosss

    Giorgosss

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    459
    Does B1F in Chargestone cave has any moving NPCs?
  4. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    You hold them down from the moment you start the game until after the logo. If that's not the problem, check your adjacent seeds, make sure you aren't hitting the wrong Timer0 or something.
  5. DizzyDrone

    DizzyDrone

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    I'm planning to RNG a shiny Pansear, and I have both my standard seed and my pidrng seed. I noticed that the NPC that gives you the elemental monkeys moves around randomly. What would be the best way to go about advancing the frame? I tried saving but she just moves in between saves, and unfortunately I dont have a Chatot yet.
  6. Pokethan

    Pokethan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    I am sure its not my Timer0 because I have been using the same timer0 and have successfully RNGed all 3 of the musketeer trio, Zoroark, Zorua, Victini, and Volcarona using seeds from the same timer0 value. I think its probably the button thing that is messing me up. I got one on Frame 1 where I only have to hold Left so I will hold left on the dpad right after I start the game until the years for the game show up.
  7. tinker

    tinker

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hey, sorry if this has already been covered. I just need to know if I'm doing this right.
    I've got my seed for the iv's. But I don't seem to encounter the pokemon I want to. If I advance the frame to the encounter slot I want will I still gain the iv's if I hit my frame?
  8. Jiraiya

    Jiraiya

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Yes as long as you hit your seed then you can advance the pid frame as you need
  9. Tesseraction

    Tesseraction

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Timer0 usually starts messing up when multiple keypresses are involved.
    Edit: Using time finder, generate the adjacent seeds (current frame) and see if any match what you're getting.

    Don't be "sure" until you've actually checked.
  10. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    I've had Timer0 be consistent for dozens of attempts in a row, then suddenly switch to being consistently the other one. Check it anyway.
  11. Biscotti

    Biscotti

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    The easy way to verify your seed is as soon as you've picked up your egg fly to the top of victory road and sweet scent - the pokemon you catch should be on an IV frame of ~14 for the seed you're using.
  12. funeral_cake

    funeral_cake

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't. I was able to RNG on that floor without any trouble.
  13. Aviator99

    Aviator99

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    when breeding with ditto and an everstone, (and making no IV frame advancements) will your PID frame still typically fall between 40-100? Because mine never seem to when I'm breeding with ditto and an everstone
  14. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    Still cant figure out my problem. Any suggestions?
  15. RayquazaTheKip

    RayquazaTheKip

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Hey, are you guys ever going to make a button for a desired PID Frame? Because it really annoys me sometimes when I find a spread that looks awesome but is on like PID Frame 83921 or something(Shiny PID). *Figured it out*

    EDIT: I realized that I need to put in a spread, lol.
  16. firestorm xl

    firestorm xl

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    whats type of timer do you have? i figured my problem out yesterday involving my timer
  17. V4Victini

    V4Victini [22:30] <~Nexus> (≖ᴗ≖✿)
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    784
    Timer0 changes whenever the hell Timer0 feels like changing. I RNGd fine for numerous pokemon and then all of a sudden i didnt work. I kept trying with the ame results till I found out that Timer0 does what it wants when it wants.
  18. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    I just use my stop watch, which I've used for all of my abuses in both 4th and 5th gen. Could it be that I can see the dirt patch once I finish my steps?
  19. OmegaForte

    OmegaForte

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Are you at the floor where Cobalion is? There's no NPCs advancing the PID frame. It can also be your timer fluctuating.
  20. RayquazaTheKip

    RayquazaTheKip

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Okay, here is another question!!! Is the PIDRNG Frame calculator 100% accurate in a place with no NPCs? If not, how accurate is it? I need to know this stuff for future reference. For example, I need to know to use/not use this calculator. Thanks in advance!
  21. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    I'm on the second floor (not the one with Cobalion, but not the one with the two hikers). I don't think it's my timer fluctuating, as I still get the IVs I want (according to the IV guy in the battle subway and the characteristic of what I catch).
  22. V4Victini

    V4Victini [22:30] <~Nexus> (≖ᴗ≖✿)
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    784
    I think the Hikers affect the PID regardless of their challenge status
  23. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    But there on the floor under the one I'm on, so would they still effect me? I'll try again later when I get free time on the top floor (where Cobalion was) and see if I still have trouble. I'll post if I do, and if not you'll see a post in the DMP thread.
  24. Valei

    Valei

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    333
    Question: Does sending Zekrom/Reshiram to Dragonspiral Tower change anything? I don't really want to RNG them now so I'm filling up my boxes so I can get to them later. I just want to make sure sending them there isn't going to lock in there nature/IVs or anything like that. Has anyone RNGed them at Dragonspiral Tower?

    Any help would be great!
  25. Tomxc

    Tomxc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Apparently there's some debate over if the shiny check on Zekrom/Reshiram is gone when they're at Dragonspiral Tower. But it's tedious getting 726 Pokemon to fill up PC boxes + Party just to do that...

    This article mentions Smogon saying the shiny check is there, but Serebii saying it's not haha. I'm more inclined to believe that the shiny check is still there, so all those people trying might just be wasting their time: http://www.pokemonelite2000.com/7389/the-shiny-factor-reshiram-and-zekrom

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)