1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.
  3. Click here to ensure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!
  4. Ever find yourself missing out on the latest Smogon articles? We've now got a subscription service, so the newest articles (of your choice) are delivered right to your inbox! Check it out here.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Aviator99

    Aviator99

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    in PPRNG what option do I choose for stationary legendaries? (there isn't a 'stationary legends' option)
  2. Tomxc

    Tomxc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Ah thanks for the confirmation, I wasn't planning on it but this is good to know then if anyone trades a shiny Z/R then it's definitely hacked.

    If you read the second post of this thread, I believe Entralink RNG is actually C-Gear abuse, or at least can be done with C-Gear seeding.


    I assume they can be manipulated at N's Castle too, just that you are then forced into two battles and a forced save at the end of the game with no way to check IV's before that; so Dragonspiral Tower is the only solution for RNG manipulation.
  3. V4Victini

    V4Victini 再起不能
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,010
    Srry didnt see this.
  4. Zandock

    Zandock

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Don't tell people to waste time filling up boxes for this. RNGing inside N's Castle is much easier than catching hundreds of pokemon that you will later have to delete. All you have to do is check Zekrom/Reshiram's summary when you go into the battle with N. Yes, you are unable to see the nature, but if you know what IVs you are shooting for it should be very easy to figure out what nature you hit. If it's the wrong nature, reset and advance to the proper PID after hitting your seed again. When you get the spread/nature you want just chuck pokeballs until you lose the battle so you can go deposit your legendary into your PC before finishing the game.

    There is just about zero reason to make the legendary go to Dragonspiral Tower.
  5. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,963
    There's two easy ways to do it there, actually. Check the stats during the battle with N, and if four of them match up with your expected IVs, it should be easy to deduce the nature from there. If you can't tell from that, then just lose the battle.

    Edit: Accelgor'd.
  6. Tomxc

    Tomxc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Ah my apologies; that is indeed a much better way. Too bad for all those people being misled by amateur articles elsewhere on the internet- Smogon is definitely the place to go for the optimal methodology, not to mention the most accurate information.
  7. Spoit

    Spoit

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]

    So using standard RNG breeding with a seed of 4E8179576DFD0291, with a careful everstoned mother.

    I calibrated with 4 chatters to frame 58, then advanced with chaters to the shiny frame at 89, but got the bold one at frame 88 instead. So I did it again, with one more chatter, and it jumped to the sassy frame at 93.
  8. Elemt

    Elemt

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    If you re-save, the NPCs will move differently and your starting frame will be different. It is best to check the starting by hatching the egg and not saving.
  9. Spoit

    Spoit

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    I didn't resave.
  10. Pokethan

    Pokethan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Only problem is now I am saved right inside the house before I come out to meet Thundurus so I really can't check my seed properly. Can I check it with Thundurus?
  11. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Pokemon Researcheris a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    Sure you can check. Walk outside, do the Thundurus encounter, then go catch and check a wild Pokemon. If the wild Pokemon's IVs match one of your first 20 frames for that seed, you can be sure you hit it.
  12. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    There are two choices. Stationary Encounter and Zekrom / Reshiram / Victini. If you don't have the Stationary Encounter choice, you are using a very old version.
  13. V4Victini

    V4Victini 再起不能
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,010
    That could cause frequent crashes in RNGReporter cuz it would take up SO MUCH MEMORY. RNGReporter still crashes as is for some people occasionally.
  14. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,963
    Maybe add a disclaimer that it might cause problems on low-end computers? It'd be nice to have it as an option, at least, for overnight searches and longer no-keypress searches and so on.
  15. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Pokemon Researcheris a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    I'm having a hard time diagnosing the problem, though. I have virtual machines set up emulate low-end machines (slow CPU speed, low memory) and I have yet to experience a crash.
  16. V4Victini

    V4Victini 再起不能
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,010
    When I tried to run multiple searches, over 3 months, the program crashed. I assumed it was 2 much memory. I tried 2 months and it worked fine but everything else was slow.

    Maybe youre right though andit may just be low end computers. Mine is from 2007.

    EDIT: 4 month search
  17. Pokethan

    Pokethan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Just checked my seed and yeah Im hitting it. Which is weird since the Thundurus doesn't seem to ever have the ivs I want. Gonna catch it now and see what ivs it has.
  18. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,060
    Well I'm back, and I still can't get this stupid Haxorus. I hit my seed multiple times while in the room Cobalion appears, done the frame advancements for IVs, done 1/2/3/4 chatot calls (different times I hit the seed), and I don't see any correlation between the results. I guess I may have to find one with a lower IV frame, but that's going to mean higher amount of advancements for the nature/shiny part. If anyone thinks of anything, let me know.
  19. OmegaForte

    OmegaForte

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    It rarely happens to me. The only times it would stop working is whenever I canceled the search and quickly went to the main screen of RNG reporter and had FF open. (3 times so far- since RNG reporter came out with the standard abuse for US, etc.)

    I don't know either if it's the memory because I have FF open and some other app, and no crashes.
  20. firestorm xl

    firestorm xl

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    COKTAL: which timer do you have? i have C7E and i have to hit like 1/10th a second after my target time or something. try hitting that and see what you get it worked for me.
  21. COKTAL

    COKTAL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,060
    I've got C7F. I know when I hit it because I'll check the IVs of what I catch and the IV guy in the battle subway tells me the HP/Attack/Defense/Sp. Defense/Speed are all equally great.
    I'm just going to do a new search for a spread that starts on frame 1 since I need to go to bed now. Woot for having a calculus exam at 8 in the morning.
  22. Pokethan

    Pokethan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    I have been checking my seed before I go and try to catch Thundurus so far I have been pretty consistent at hitting the seed. After Thundurus flies away the pokemon I catch is on Frame 8 of whatever seed I have. So when the pokemon has certain IVs I know I hit my seed. Its very helpful.
  23. xtr3m3

    xtr3m3

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    397
    Thanks again but I did some trial and error and found the problem. I dunno if it's a bug or something trivial but I'll explain anyways.

    Seed A:

    It just won't work at Celestial Tower, 2F. Why? I have no idea. It worked perfectly in a random patch of grass outside of Giant Chasm, encountered a Golbat by accident. I realized the frame was off by 20 as opposed to the calculated initial frame. So I took the actual frame with the seed, tested the pattern of natures, hit the right nature at the right frame but no shiny (at Celestial Tower)

    Just to be sure I tried a different seed in first floor of relic castle and it was perfect. Maybe it was that particular seed or something but yeah.
  24. Vladimir

    Vladimir

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    @xtreme: There's a wandering NPC in Celestial Tower 2F. Try the roof.

    Also, RNGreporter crashes for me all the time while searching only for one month. Just thought i'd post that.
  25. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Pokemon Researcheris a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    Helpful bug reports, please. Like a screenshot of your RNG Reporter set-up before it crashed, exactly when it crashed, does it still crash with other settings, etc. I can't fix bugs if I have no idea how they're caused.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)