1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Cereza

    Cereza Tastes Like Candy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,258
    Anything that has a regular pattern will not advance the frames. Maybe you were hitting the wrong timer0? It might have been. The gender slot...well...I guess that could be the case, I just use it because I like my pokemon to be female but so far I havent had any problems with it...I don't really think it affects the RNG that much, in Gen 5 at least.
  2. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Okay with the Entralink PID abuse, I am pretty confused. Why is my first timer so off from what my standard seed time is? How can I fix this?
    Show Hide
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    The highlighted frame is the one I am using. As you can see, my Eontimer is ~3 and a half seconds off of what my standard seed time is and because of that I can see that I am not hitting my seed, but I am hitting some seed consistently.
  3. PoJ

    PoJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    It's because of your Eon Timer's calibration. I'm going to try to explain this the best I can, so please bear with me!

    In the entralink seed search, the C-Gear seed is in an XYXXXXXX format. You need to change the Y (in your case, 2) in order for the seed search to find seeds that adjust for your calibration. I'm guessing you're 3 seconds lower than what you should be, so you would decrease the 2 by 3. When you get results, look at the "C-Gear Date/Time" column. You need to add 3 to your target seconds for the C-Gear time. I'm not exactly sure why this works, but it does!

    But, lol, I'm sorry. I don't know what you would put in place of the 2. 2 - 3 is -1, but you can't put that... try VMing Zari about it, he'll know.
  4. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Okay that makes some sense, lol.

    Alright VMed him.
  5. Stay Gold

    Stay Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Hey, I'm trying my first RNG and need a little help. I'm going for a Jolly flawless Terrakion (figured i'd start easy). I'm using a Jolly sychronizer to help me get my nature rather than moving frames. I'm hitting my seed and getting the desired IVs, but its a lonely nature every time, after about 6 or 7 times of hittingmy seed. Will Synchronize never work when i hit this seed or am i just unlucky? Is there anything I can do about it?

    EDIT:
    Nevermind, I saved to advance the frame before catching it and Sychronize worked then. Guess I just needed to advance the frame all along. Yay for my first RNG.
  6. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    In case it's still unclear, any particular PID frame will be either synchable or non-synchable every time you hit it, so yes, advancing to a synchable frame is the only way to get it to work (unless the starting frame happens to be the nature you want anyway).
  7. Wata123

    Wata123

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Well that's why I was asking. I'm trying to catch female pokemon and even out my male:female ratio.

    I don't see why the timer0 would be a problem. I caught a shiny Duosion and I've RNGed a handful of non-shiny pokemon using the same timer0. Unless it can randomly change for whatever reason.

    Though I think the real problem is the required lead. The seed in question needs a synchronizer (this is what it says on Time Finder). On RNG Reporter's main window, it says Mild in the 'Nature' box. If I use a random pokemon (without the synchronize ability) or if I use a synchronizer with a different nature, do you think it might ruin the results?
  8. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    That thing I bolded is true. Timer0 can change and will change whenever it wants. You probably have one that's extremely common and then the other one was just hiding out until now.

    In 5th Gen the seed's frames won't change because of a synchronizer like 4th Gen so that should not really be a problem. Just the natures change accordingly and only bolded natures change to what your synch's nature is.
  9. Wata123

    Wata123

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Yeah, just tested this and I'm getting C7F with the occasional C80. I saw the second value before but assumed it was an error when booting up the game and recording the time. The question is when do I know which one to use?
  10. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Just stick with which ever you get more and ignore the other. Because it's so uncommon it would waste time trying to get the timer0.
  11. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Alright so to not bother Zari anymore (as I am sure I have been annoying, lol), with the Entralink PIDRNG abuse when I get my new seed that's adjusted towards my standard seed, where do I actually plug that in for it to be in effect?
  12. PoJ

    PoJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    Where do you plug in the standard seed?

    Main window. Method 5 PIDRNG, encounter type: Entralink Pokemon. Paste seed, calculate initial frame (add 3 if you want to verify your standard seed with Chatot). Then generate.
  13. MiloticMistress

    MiloticMistress

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I'm just learning to RNG, and trying to do my first on getting a good IV spread on Zekrom... however I'm having lots of trouble hitting the right seed.

    This is what I'm trying to get (top result):

    [​IMG]

    My DS MAC address is 001EA9C8DA49, on a DS Lite... I'm making sure to press the game enter button on the DS main menu at the exact time specified.
    Also only have 5 in my party as mentioned for a frame 1 seed...

    I keep getting IV spreads of:

    12-13/0-1/0-1/14-15/4-5/8-9
    8-9/14-15/24-25/2-3/14-15/26-27

    Halp? This is apparently very easy but I have no clue what's going wrong
  14. ChildDaemon

    ChildDaemon

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    When you say "exact time"... are you taking into account the time offset you determined when you found your DS Parameters?
  15. MiloticMistress

    MiloticMistress

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I just figured that out myself, woops. I was forgetting to startup the second before (my offset was one second). Rookie mistake :P, but thanks for the help!
  16. SpeedSuicune

    SpeedSuicune

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    I'm having the same problem as Snapback. I'm also three seconds too early for my standard seed, and my C-Gear seed is 2D57DFC8. Should that change to 2A57DFC8, then? Once I've got the modified seed, do I put that into the Seed To Times Finder window? The target seconds for that C-Gear seed is 4, so should I put 7 in EonTimer?
  17. Wata123

    Wata123

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    It keeps fluctuating between the two. I haven't seen the same value more than twice in a row. Let's say I get a seed with C7F, if I keep resetting the DS, will I eventually see the shiny? Because I just tried generating more or less the same thing with C80, and again, it's a regular pokemon.
  18. Cereza

    Cereza Tastes Like Candy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,258
    Yup. Just to stick to one, you'll hit it eventually ._.
  19. PoJ

    PoJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    Yes, you would change D to A. However, only change it in the entralink seed search! You're still going to hit your original seed, you just need the entralink seed search to adjust for your calibration.

    1. Change the Y value of your seed accordingly and then search for new seeds in the entralink seed search. (If you're hitting a second(s) early, decrease Y accordingly and vice versa.)
    2. Pick a seed you like.
    3. Look at the C-Gear time for the seed you picked, specifically the seconds. Adjust it accordingly. (so, since you're 3 seconds early, you would add 3 seconds to the C-Gear time.)
    4. Enter your adjusted C-Gear target second into Eon Timer, and now the first timer should make it possible to hit your standard seed.
    5. Go back to seed to time and find your adjusted target time. Generate adjacent seeds and you're ready to begin! (Make sure you use your original C-Gear seed in the seed to time, not the adjusted one!)

    I hope that helped/made sense c:
  20. SpeedSuicune

    SpeedSuicune

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Thank you so much. This was incredibly helpful. :D
  21. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Oh okay, Speed explained my problem better. But I do have a question. When I change my seed in the seed search how come I get different IVs? Is that supposed to happen? Lol, I guess I just don't really make sense of this whole thing.
  22. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    Is there something on Route 14 that screws with the PIDRNG? I'm using seed ADFA21780510D9C1, trying to hit frame 75. When I hit the seed and started Chatots, the pitch started on frame 65 (18 frames past the initial), but I figured maybe there were just a lot of NPCs, so I advanced up through 74, Sweet Scented...and the first frame that matched the encounter slot and nature I got was on 94. I know I hit the seed, because the IVs were correct, so what else might have been the problem?
  23. Snapback

    Snapback

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Are you accounting for the advancements while sweet scenting?
  24. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    Do NPCs advance during Sweet Scent? I don't remember that happening before.
  25. PoJ

    PoJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    Because it's a different seed. But don't worry, you're still going to get your target IVs because you're still going to hit your target seed. This is just to get the right seconds.

    Iirc, I saw some NPCs move once when I scented, but Idk if they actually advance because when I do the correct amount of advances I got my target. Honestly, I wouldn't rely on chatot pitches. I would try catching a Pokemon right when you get in the game and see what you get.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)