1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.
  3. Click here to ensure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!
  4. Ever find yourself missing out on the latest Smogon articles? We've now got a subscription service, so the newest articles (of your choice) are delivered right to your inbox! Check it out here.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    So does anyone know if synching to BW1 messes with the RNG process?
  2. Deszaras

    Deszaras

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    I have a question about the seed you get, when you are creating your character in b/w2. A essential thing in getting your seed in rng is the target time and the button presses at the starting of the game. So wouldn't be there a way to find out your seed, if you write down the time when you created your character?
    If yes, you could use it for breeding. Correct me please, if I'm wrong.
  3. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Technically, all three are true (lucky Mac users), but from what I hear the third is a case of "untested but should work."
  4. Shii

    Shii zap
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    If you are talking about Memory Link, yes it does. It has an effect on initial PID frames and maybe Dream Radar too, iirc.
    The time you create your character? I'm not quite sure what you mean.

    You can find out what seed you hit by checking the TID you get ingame and searching it in Pandora's Box. See the way it works is you hit the seed, and when you enter your name and say No to Juniper when she asks to confirm that name, the RNG advances by one. And you end up with a different ID/SID combo.
  5. Deszaras

    Deszaras

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    So it is possible to rng breed in b/w2?
  6. Shii

    Shii zap
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    It is, if you're okay with the fact that everything is static except IV's. Slash's words, not mine.
  7. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    But you can still abuse your ID/SID combo in BW2 right?
  8. Shii

    Shii zap
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Of course. Same procedure as BW.
  9. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Thanks, Shii.

    I was using 9.96.1 and tried calibrating on my DSi. I'm having 3 different timer0's and VCounts. Is this normal? 1676, 167b, 1673, and now 1678. Vcounts were AC and AD.
  10. Deszaras

    Deszaras

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    But still you have quite some variety with the expanding of the frame i.e. with Chatot.
    Otherwise I still have my black1 edition, I was just curious.
    But there's another question, does the bug exist also in the european version of the game like german? (If nobody knows, I could test it on Friday, then I'm getting my game)

    /Edit: To Musica, only your timer0 should change, this means the IVs you used for calibrating weren't exact enough, if you are getting more than one result.
  11. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    I can't speak for RNG Reporter, but it is accounted for in PPRNG.

    Dream Radar RNG in PPRNG has been tested by several users now (including Shii and religiousjedi) and works fine.

    The frames you can get in the Dream Radar are a combination of the PIDRNG and IVRNG, like normal in-game encounters (and unlike Wondercards, which only use the PIDRNG). However, both RNGs are advanced together when using the 'Send and Receive Keys' function with the spinning icon and can't be advanced independently. It is similar to Gen 4 frames, basically, in that you can't separate the nature from the IVs, however there are a lot more possible seeds in Gen 5 so every good nature/IV combination is available to everyone.

    Because performing a Memory Link permanently changes the initial PIDRNG frame for most (but not all) seeds but has no effect on the IVRNG, the DR frames that you can hit after doing a Memory Link are different than those you could hit before linking. The IV frames don't change, though, so what you will see is that there will be frames with the same IVs at the same Dream Radar frame number as before the Memory Link, but the nature will have changed to something else. This result is that some frames with good IVs but bad natures will have useful natures after linking, but the opposite case is also true.

    Note, though, that doing a Memory Link is beneficial overall because it lowers the initial PID frame for most seeds (and doesn't increase it for any seeds). That means you can hit lower PIDRNG frames for normal in-game encounters as well as Wondercards, increasing the number of useful seeds.

    Actually, based on the numbers Musica posted, it looks like it may be the case that there is some small VCount variation on DSi / 3DS in addition to the Timer0 variation. People will have to spend more time testing with DSi / 3DS to be certain, however, so don't quote me on that just yet.
  12. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Each timer0 was gotten from 4 tries of calibration. I'll try more later to see what results I would get. How about the DS Phat/Lite? Do they have such large variations of timer0?
  13. Shii

    Shii zap
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Yes, they do. It's usually a range of 1104-1108 for Black and like 10F4-10F8 for White2. Give or take a few. They become easier to hit as you practice. Timers help too.
  14. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    ...Wait, so if it's confirmed accurate, then...does that mean that what the update to RNG Reporter is waiting on is the time it takes to translate the code over (and adding DSi/3DS compatibility with it)?




    and why I can't rng dr mons right now being that I don't have a mac :(
  15. emboars

    emboars

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    so in the rng reporter 9.96.1 ,as it support bw2 US now, can you find the paras using the unova link..i cant find it in the rng reporter...:/
  16. Agonist

    Agonist The day the world went away
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,644
    if you can't find it, then it's not there.
  17. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    I've seen the new EonTimer v1.6. I've got no clue on how to calibrate using that. =/
  18. Godstar

    Godstar

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Need help...

    So I've been trying to figure out how to use this RNG Reporter application (latest version) and I've been having some issues.

    First problem:

    So I followed the steps in how to calibrate your RNG Reporter and it doesn't seem to be working. When I go to look up the seed corresponding to the IV's on the Pokemon I capture, nothing appears.

    1.) I set both the date and time on my DS and PC to the same time on parameter finder.
    2.) I don't hold any keys, nor do I enable C-gear when logging on.
    3.) I log on and immediately talk to the mailman to get a Wondercard Pokemon I have (seems an easy test case.)
    4.) I plug in stats within parameter finder and hit search to find the right seed/pid.

    This is where the problem lies. I'm assuming something is supposed to come up and come up consistently, given the same DTG and key presses. However, that doesn't seem to be the case. I've tried 4-5 times, nothing happens.

    Am I doing something wrong in the process? Also, is there some metric I'm supposed to be obtaining from this or is it just the consistency of landing on the same pid/seed that's important?

    Another question...
    Is Chatot w/ Chatter necessary to advance frames, or is any Pokemon viable in team summary for flipping?
  19. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Wondercard IVs are generated differently from wild Pokemon, so that could be it. I don't know if it's been updated recently, but last I checked you can't get your parameters with Wondercards.

    Gotta be a Chatot w/ customized Chatter.
  20. Lucario9721

    Lucario9721

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I have a few questions

    1. Is calibrating Eontimer for b2/w2 the same as b/w? or do I need to wait for an update on Eontimer

    2. I have white 2 and black 2 so If i found the parameters on white 2 would I have to find parameters again for black 2 if I used it on the same system? Or would using my white 2 parameters work for it?
  21. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    You'd need to find them again. At least, you'd have to find your timer0 again.

    Never used timers for Standard seeds, so can't answer the other one.
  22. Godstar

    Godstar

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks, that would probably explain it.

    Thanks, wasn't sure if that was required or an optional thing.
  23. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Yes it is, set it in your profile.

    Actually the IVs and PID are not static. However the nature, inheritance, and possibly the ability are.

    It's a significant amount of work and I haven't even started on it because my entire focus has been DSi/3DS. You'll see it eventually but do note that VGCs are this weekend so most of us are busy.

    That will be added later.

    After you do the memory link it's set in your game. Don't worry though because RNG Reporter accounts for it if you check the Memory Link box in your profile.
  24. filipekiss

    filipekiss

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hey guys, just to let you know, got my Victinit right.

    Here are the procedures I made:

    1 - Checked the IVs with no frame advances at all. Found out i was hitting 49 instead of the 47 reported by PPRNG
    2 - Re-recorded chatots chatter cry
    3 - Hit the seed, advanced the frames to 56.
    4 - ????
    5 - Profit :)

    So, if you're having trouble I suggest you check your initial frame and re-record chatot cries if it appears you're not advancing at all :)

    Thanks to chizu and everyone for the help.
  25. masterbreeder

    masterbreeder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Whenever I try to close the RNG Profiles window of RNG Reporter 9.96 Beta, I get the same message:

    "Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

    Access to the path 'C:\Windows\system32\profiles.xml' is denied"

    When I click Continue, the window stays open, and when I click Quit, the window stays open.

    The thing is, I can't even find that file or folder. I've tried redownloading the program, but nothing works. Could someone please give me some detailed help on this? Or at least a way use 9.96 Beta without having to save a Profile?

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)