1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    I was following the Pokemon BW TID/ SID RNG Abuse Guide by Princess of Johto. Apparently, wild works for most types of RNG.
  2. kesujin

    kesujin

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Don't know if someone can help with this, but i would really appreciate.
    So, i'm trying to rng shiny stationary (Uxie in this case) but i cant get the shinie, i get the I'vs like i desire but no shiny.
    So, imagine i get the starting frame of 55, and the shiny frame is 72, i have to use the chatots to advance 17 frames right? I'm doing this but still no shiny.
    Don't know what i'm doing wrong, but can anyone help?
  3. Seriouz

    Seriouz

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    It's possible in both.
    It may change in the time you start your game, I think for DS phat and DS lite it's one second, and DSi or 3DS 8 or 7 seconds, I don't remember.
  4. Seriouz

    Seriouz

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    :O!!!!!
    You mean I need to check "Memory Link Used" option for the Unova Link Spins Parameters finder to get my "common" parameters??
    I did this:
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]

    Then I got a result in the range of my "original" timer0:
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]


    These are other images:
    with memory link:
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]

    no memory link:
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If this is the problem, will I need to check the "Memory Link Used" option for RNG without problems? Also for RNG reporter this will be the case? just if I want to search my parameters using the IVs for a captured pokemon (also for RNG, :P)
    Thanks!
  5. Sæglópur

    Sæglópur

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    819
    Sometimes it's not exactly x - x = x amount of chatot cries.
    Everytime I RNG a stationary legendary, I have to subtract x amount of chatots (usually 3 for me).
    So to solve this, just catch him without doing any chatots, and compare what you got in the Gen 5 PIDRNG tab in the main window of RNG reporter. You might be starting at frame 56 or 57, so all you have to do is adjust accordingly. :)
  6. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Wild works for many situations but not for starters, regardless of what PoJ's guide says.

    What I meant is, in your case, you have to have the Memory Link Used option checked in order to use the Unova Link spinner calibration. That could either be because you have done a memory link, or because of some reason we don't know that causes this behavior. Regardless, calibration using the Unova Link spinner and Dream Radar RNG won't work correctly for you unless you check that box in your configuration.

    As to whether it is necessary for other types of RNG, you will have to find that out yourself. I would start with the option checked, though.
  7. Onicon

    Onicon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,044
    Convenient question: What does the "Memory Link" checkbox (RNG Reporter) exactly do? It seems like in most cases it does nothing.
  8. Darki

    Darki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    As far as I know, it advances your initial frame, sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it advances it by 2 or whatever. So basically, you have to tell the program that you used the Memory Link if you did so.
  9. firestorm xl

    firestorm xl

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Is the process for RNging fossils the same as breeding or completely different?
  10. Darki

    Darki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Those count as gift Pokémon.
  11. firestorm xl

    firestorm xl

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Just made things a lot easier thanks.

    Also isn't there like 1 roaming npc in the fossil place? So would i just fast click like i would when RNG breeding?
  12. Darki

    Darki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    At the moment I can't check that, but if there is a moving NPC, that's basically what you have to do. Probably you have to stop chatting one frame earlier, like you maybe already do when breeding. And if it's a wandering NPC, just hope that it doesn't move before you talk to the NPC with the fossil Pokémon.
    As soon as you press A to get the message "Player recieved XYZ", the RNG generates your Pokémon (in case you wanted to ask that, too).
  13. Seriouz

    Seriouz

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I didn't mention this, but I trade some pokemons from my White version, so...
    Could this be considered as a "Memory Link Used"?
    Anyway, I would check and uncheck this option when I RNG.
  14. Darki

    Darki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Just doing a normal trade doesn't count as a memory link. The memory link is a feature on it's own.
  15. PsyJ

    PsyJ

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Makes sense. Figured it was something simple

    I know about the advancements, but according to the guide, the PID frame is initial frame +7. So, with 18 advancements to get to the IV frame (9 spinner activations), it should be 25 frames total advanced, landing on frame 80. Unless I'm miscounting or doing something wrong

    Thanks again
    -PsyJ
  16. Morbz

    Morbz

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Sorry, have to delete my post. I was asking for a Gen 4 RNG.
  17. Buckert

    Buckert

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,305
    So I have to refresh my mind a bit. Also read that the Timer0 varies much more in BW2 than in BW.

    Just tried to find my parameters, got these results (White2)

    VCount Timer0
    82 10F3
    8D 10F6

    82 10F3

    82 10F4

    82 10F5

    82 10F4

    Pretty sure the VCount is 82, but what about the Timer0? Shall I search for seed from Timer0 10F3 to 10F6?
  18. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    I don't have a link to the guide, but I assume it's using Wild Encounter frames.

    Either way, the number of initial advancements depends on whether you've done a Memory Link or not. If you have (or if you have a cartridge that behaves as if you have), then initial frame + 6 gets you the nature when looking at Wild Encounter frames for the genies (with the PID coming from initial frame + 3). If you haven't done a Memory Link, then it's initial frame + 7 for nature.
  19. Buckert

    Buckert

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,305
    Ok, here's another White2 question. I've checked the 'Black White 2?' box in the main screen.

    I'm trying to abuse Reshiram, but I'm facing a few problems. This is the seed I'm aiming for: F8CBF1CEAEA55DF7. IV's will be flawless. It's Timer0 is 10F4. Starting frame is 53, and 1 chatter gives me a Hasty nature, which I need. The original frame of the seed is 208.

    1. In Time Finder, I need to pick IVs Standard Seed, right?
    2. In the main screen, I need to pick Gen 5 PIDRNG, right?
    3. When hitting this Timer0, the IV's should be correct, right?
    4. If I advance to another frame using chatter, that shouldn't infect the IV's, right?
    5. Just got the 10F4 Timer0, checked it with DS Parameter finder. But, the IV's weren't flawless. What did I do wrong?
  20. religiousjedi

    religiousjedi Destiny likes to use #The in everything.
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,780
    Wide range of Timer0 = opportunity to miss target Timer0.
  21. Buckert

    Buckert

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,305
    Yeah but I checked the Timer0 I got, which was the one I should have. Never had the right IV's yet.
  22. religiousjedi

    religiousjedi Destiny likes to use #The in everything.
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,780
    Then the next question is what do you mean by "the original frame of the seed is 208?" "Starting frame is 53" I assume means initial PID frame and you say one Chatot Chatter will advance it to your intended nature, so...
  23. PsyJ

    PsyJ

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Memory link is what threw me off then. Now I know not to make a mistake on White2. Thank you

    -PsyJ
  24. Buckert

    Buckert

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,305
    That doesn't have to do anything with the IV's..

    Starting frame = initial PID frame, so yeah.

    Question is, if my seed's Timer0 is 10F4, and I'm hitting 10F4, the IV's should be correct, right?
  25. Darki

    Darki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Exactly, this are the Timer0 variables that you most likely hit. Searching for a timer0 range gives you more possible results. Also keep in mind that you can hit the right target time, but the timer0 is wrong, so don't get disappointed if it takes some time to hit the desired seed, just keep trying.


    To your questions:
    1. Right
    2. Right
    3. Right
    4. Right

    I checked your seed and now I understand that two frames. 208 is the target IV frame and 53 is the initial PID frame. Maybe you should search for a target time that makes you get a seed with flawless IVs on IV frame 1, such a high IV frame just makes you mess it up. If you go for IV frame 1, you only have to advance the PID frame, where you make less mistakes.
    Remember, every 128 steps you make advance the IV frame by the number of team members, that means that you must walk 8832 steps having 3 Pokés in your team. In my opinion, this is too much work which also increases the possibility of miscounting and in times where you can hit multiple timer0 variables, you can search for better results.

    If you want, you can give me your calibreation via PM and I search some seeds for you.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)