1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Albus

    Albus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    533
    Hi people, can somebody tell what are the Encounter Slots for the White Forest (if it has any)? any help would be really appreciated. :)
  2. PsyJ

    PsyJ

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Yeah. I know I helped a few others over at Nugget Bridge get theirs right. I have no clue why Nintendo programmed Memory Link the way they did, It makes so many things harder just by screwing with all the offsets. The only one I failed on was Tornadus.

    Luckily I still have a White2 I can get one from. :D

    Cheers, PsyJ
  3. religiousjedi

    religiousjedi #ZELDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763
    There are none. You just have to get lucky in getting your target Pokemon.
  4. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Nintendo (actually Game Freak) does not take ease or difficulty of RNG abuse into consideration when making their games, as I'm sure we'll all find out anew when the next games are released. In the case of Memory Link, no one sat there and said "let's have this mess up the frame offsets" because they don't even think about frame offsets in the way the RNG abusers do. Whatever functionality Memory Link enables, it requires different calls to the RNG than when a Memory Link hasn't been done. The fact that this "screws with all the offsets" is just a side effect of how the game works and not a nefarious plot or bad programming by the developers.
  5. Dizzybanana21x

    Dizzybanana21x

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Hey is there a list of places in B2 where there are no WNPCs
    Basically, is there a floor of the Litwick tower (name?) where there are no WNPCs?
  6. Princess Emily

    Princess Emily

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    675
  7. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Hello everyone, as you can tell from my username I've started trying out RNG...

    I'm trying to RNG a hp ice 70 female Plusle

    I'm using my DSi and Black cart.

    I'm confused on what to do...
    My actual time was off by +1 second.
    But I was told via a video that the delay time for the DSi was +3 seconds
    My stats are:
    Timer0=123C
    VFRAME=8
    VCOUNT=8C
    GXstart=6

    My time for the seed is 16:15:59 What time do I start? 58 or 56?
    By the way my starting frame is 40 and the target is 50.
  8. Eyedol

    Eyedol the artist formerly known as xAtrocity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    If you want you can try calibrating using a different starting time. If you actual time is still off by one second, then just go with that.
  9. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    I should recaibirate my parameters?
  10. Eyedol

    Eyedol the artist formerly known as xAtrocity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    You should try that, yes. Doing that will tell you if you did it right the first time or not. Make sure to use a different date and time.
  11. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    So I did that and...

    Starting time 22/11/12 10:43:25
    Actual time 10:43:26
    Timer0: 123C
    I thought the actual time would be 28 due to the 3 second delay...
  12. Sidfrid

    Sidfrid

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    471
    aren't you using the Eon Timer? If not, I higly recommend to use it. The timer is the easiest way to get realiable and constant results.
  13. Eyedol

    Eyedol the artist formerly known as xAtrocity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    This isn't the first time that I've heard of this. Use a one second offset and you'll be fine.
  14. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    I'm not using Eontimer, I use my windows 7 clock.
  15. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    So, I should start the game 1 second before the time on the time finder?
  16. Eyedol

    Eyedol the artist formerly known as xAtrocity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Yes. Good luck. ^_^
  17. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Oh, okay thanks, when do I boot the game, when the gamefreak logo fades out or when the star crashes?
  18. Hootie

    Hootie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks to this thread I was finally able to RNG a shiny 31/30/30/31/31/31 Hidden Power Ice Tornadus.

    Definitely not as hard as I was thinking it would be. Once I got inside the house it only took around an hour to get it, but it was definitely made easier by knowing how to catch the same nature one in my previous file.

    I guess it's time for me to learn how to RNG Entralink Pokemon now. Thanks again.
  19. Albus

    Albus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    533
    Guys, is it normal that Synchronize fails in succesion with an specific frame that the Reporter marks as "Synchronizable Frame"? i ask because i've hit my desired seed and (shiny) frame like 7 times (w/ a Jolly Synchronize lead) and the 'mon keeps appearing with a Brave nature (the nature that the 'mon appears with when not using Synchronize), despite the frame being "Synchronizable".
  20. Ewokese

    Ewokese

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    If it failed for that frame once then it will fail repeatedly without fail. Could you give some more information about what seed you're using, what game, what you're trying to RNG, etc. Just give as much information as you can, the more the better, as it'd make it easier to help you.
  21. Ewokese

    Ewokese

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    What exactly are you trying to ask? As far as I was aware, "booting" the game was when you turned it on :P

    If you mean the point that it's safe to button-spam to the main menu then I think some people say it's after the copyright info has dissappeared. As far as I remember it's meant to be after the Nintendo logo, but just do what you're comfortable with.
  22. RNGnoob

    RNGnoob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    I mean, when do I go to the title screen? After the star crashes or after the gamefreak logo appears?
  23. Albus

    Albus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    533
    Oh sorry, nearly forgot that, i'm using Seed ADA0D79F1FAA6FEF, frame 76, on Pokémon Black 2, where i'm trying to RNG a flawless Shiny Trapinch on Reversal Mountain.
  24. Agonist

    Agonist Minutes become hours when you wait, hope and regret
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,237
    Is there a Swarm there?
  25. Albus

    Albus

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    533
    No, there isn't.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)