1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.
  3. Click here to ensure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!
  4. Ever find yourself missing out on the latest Smogon articles? We've now got a subscription service, so the newest articles (of your choice) are delivered right to your inbox! Check it out here.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    It doesn't really matter as long as it's consistent. I'm assuming that you're using a DS/DS light? If that's the case then you should only have a 1 second offset. Did you go through the calibration phase?
  2. Turkey007

    Turkey007

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, I'm using a DS Lite and I went through calibration. I finally caught the target spread :toast: after many, many tries. I had to do press A almost 1.3 seconds early even though my offset was only 1 seconds.

    Moving NPCs have no effect on the IV RNG do they?
  3. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    What did you do in the calibration phase exactly? cos it sounds like you messed up if you have 2 seconds for an offset.

    Wondering NPC's only affect the PID frames.
  4. Niiko

    Niiko

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    So I'm trying to calibrate using the DS Parameter Finder. I've done 18 tries, 6 of those I've got a Timer0=1105, 5 times 1107, and then two times 1103, 1104 and 1106. So I'm wondering what Timer0 should I go for, since I haven't got a clear "winner" between 1105 and 1107, or should I use a Min-Max Timer0 using both numbers.

    I'm doing Black 2 btw.
  5. SeraphSoul

    SeraphSoul

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    for black 2 is the unova link parameters search broken? i never get any results and if i do they're way off the time i pressed a to start the game (sometimes i get seconds before i pressed a button)
  6. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Most people usually go for a range of Timer0's in BW2 so I would go with 1105-1107 and forget about the others.

    You should get a result each time. Enter the time in the parameters box first and use the same time for each attempt. Don't press any buttons until after the star explodes.

    The same pokemon should keep appearing -as in the gender, nature and IVs will be exactly the same. If not then you are definitely doing something wrong.
  7. joejones6

    joejones6

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Hi guys,
    I just read that for Dream radar RNG'ing you are able to take out the pokemon on a 3ds
    and rng it with a regular ds lite. Is there truth to that?
    And if its true can someone point me in the direction of a guide so I can learn that?
    I am using pprng for a mac.
  8. Nexus

    Nexus BLOOM DOOM
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Wi-Fi Commissioner

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,929
    you can find a guide in this post http://www.smogon.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3411155&postcount=4, was right at the top of the first post of this thread in large bold letters
  9. Belle

    Belle

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Happened to me with Dreamyard Latias - also 6 frames off, and I had battled my WNPC so he wasn't moving. Did you have Memory Link activated? Did the 6 frames offset happen with any other capture?
  10. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Hi guys, I have two questions regarding roamers. I've beaten the Elite 4 on Black1 and I was wondering if it was still possible to RNG for a shiny flawless Tornadus? I think I read somewhere that the IVs were set after completing the game... I was also wondering if the same was true for Black 2 with Latios?
  11. Princess Emily

    Princess Emily Fear the nice-smelling Princess!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    I guess doing the roamer RNG using the beat-the-E4-to-revive-it method is near impossible...
    For Lati@s, IDK yet, if I'm correct, you have to chase & corner it again after it revives after beating the E4.
  12. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    So I can't RNG Landorus then? I haven't beaten Black 2 yet -I'm currently fighting the bad guys in the Giant Chasm.
  13. Kiebin

    Kiebin

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Landorus is not a roamer AFAIK
  14. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Oh whoops, lol. Still Latios?
  15. Eppie

    Eppie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    You can redo the E4 to respawn Lati@s at the Dreamyard and then RNG it there, yes.
  16. Buckert

    Buckert Obsessive Collecting Disorder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    No Memory Link, and yes with another capture happened the same, it was 7 frames off..
  17. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Brilliant! Thanks.
  18. rbedsole

    rbedsole

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Can you only use PPRNG with Unova Link Calibration, if not and you are able to use RNG Reporter as well I'm having a bit of an issue I'm not getting any seeds at all.
  19. honchkro13

    honchkro13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    I am trying to RNG my ID/SID combo in White. I found the seed for a Wild capture in Time Finder and the corresponding frame I want to be shiny in the Main Window. I input the seed and frame into Pandora's box and found a seed to RNG an ID/SID combo.

    Problem? When I input that ID/SID combo into both my White RNG Reporter profile in the Time Finder and the Main Window and hit Generate--to verify that my desired capture seed and frame would indeed be shiny--no results showed up. I expected the initial seed and frame I wanted to be shiny to generate with the ID/SID combo I found in Pandora's Box, but it didn't show up.

    Can someone explain why that is? I'd really appreciate it!
  20. Reshiram89

    Reshiram89

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    There's no need to verify if the seed will be shiny. Since you already have a TID/SID you want to hit, just calibrate to find your starting frame and proceed as normal using saving to advance the frames.
  21. Frostbiyt

    Frostbiyt

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    The post says RNG Reporter is compatible with Linux. It doesn't work with wine, or is there a Linux download that i missed?
  22. Belle

    Belle

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    For Benga's Dratini / Amanita's Eevee, do I put down 8 as the Min / Max Frame? The method would be Standard Seed and Encounter Type would be Gift Pokemon? Or does the Encounter Type already account for the starting frame being 8?

    I am hitting one seed consistently, but it's not the seed returned by the RNG Reporter. I can't really tell if it's just Timer0 trolling or if I'm doing this incorrectly.

    Thanks!
  23. Agonist

    Agonist The day the world went away
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,644
    Starting frame is 1, like any other gift Pokemon (although you need to use the frame before your target iirc).
  24. Naj

    Naj

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    -I'm using RNG Reporter 9.96.5 Beta
    -What are you trying to capture\hatch? adamant, encounter slot 0,9, or 11 ability 0, with IVs 30/31/30/19/30/30
    -What is your target seed and frame? F447C80946638F90, Frame 1
    -What is the delay of that seed? no delay. I think.
    -What is the MAC address of the DS you are using?241E2AFD0C for my DSi
    -How did you verify your seed? I ran the captured pokemon through IV checker on Serebii.net and the IVs were not what I was after.
    -If you tried and failed, what results did you get? Adamant, Encounter Slot 2, IVs: 1, 2 / 28 / 17, 18 / 2 - 5 / 7, 8 / 4, 5


    So my understanding is that I find a standard seed using 5th Gen Time Finder using Method: "IVs (Standard Seed)".

    I find a seed with acceptable IVs, copy that seed, and paste it into the RNG Reporter 9.96.5 BETA window. I then set the Nature, Ability, and Encounter Slot I want, check the "Black White 2?" box, set method to "Gen 5 PIDRNG", and Encounter Type to "Wild Pokemon". Hit "Generate" and I find the following:

    Frame: 6
    Chatot Pitch: High (88)
    Encounter Slot: 0
    PID: DEE80DDF
    Nature: Adamant
    Ability: 0


    So if is start the game standing in the grass (Frame 1), I'd walk through the grass two steps in the direction I am facing (+4 frames), then save (+1 frame), for a total of 6 frames then use sweet scent.

    Am I right?
  25. religiousjedi

    religiousjedi brb, drowning another lousy, evil cat (Litten).
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    You're mixing up IV frame and PID frame. PID frame starts on average between 40 and 60 frames. IIRC, RNG Reporter has a button labeled "Calculate Initial PID" (which, in your case, your initial PID frame is 46). You're not getting your IVs most likely because of Timer0 trolling in B2W2, because it doesn't seem like you're tripping the steps counter. At any rate, advancement of your PID frame does not equal advancement of your IV frame, except in this case (because you're moving around in the grass. Simply stay in the spot you saved, advance the PID frame by 16 (since it looks like you're using a Synchronizer to get the nature; PID frame 62 has what you're looking for) using a Chatot with a recorded Chatter (this all assuming you're in a place where there are no WNPCs), use Sweet Scent, and catch the Poke.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)