1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.
  3. Click here to ensure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Kiebin

    Kiebin

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Do flawless spreads on low frames exist? I'm looking through my 4th year now, max frame 13, 2000-13000 delay range, nothing so far..
  2. Showsni

    Showsni

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    884
    Oh, I've been doing so. Plenty of my failed to hit the seed ones are coming out Hasty.
  3. Sprocket

    Sprocket P(n) = 1 - (1 - P(1))^n

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,735
    It highly depends on your DS's MAC address. Some MAC addresses get low flawless frames, others aren't so lucky.

    If you're willing to get less-than-flawless (ie a not-flawless in one stat like 31/31/31/x/31/31 for a physical attacker) you can probably find some low frame ones.

    You might try increasing your delay spread to 1500-20,000.
  4. Kiebin

    Kiebin

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    I'll try to increase it to 20000.
  5. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    By any chance, is there a good Max Frame and Min/Max Delay range that people are using?
  6. Buckert

    Buckert Obsessive Collecting Disorder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,848
    I'm using 1500-9000. Works good for me ^^ Also, frame under 10.
  7. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    Ok I'll try that thank you.
  8. Sprocket

    Sprocket P(n) = 1 - (1 - P(1))^n

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,735
    Again though, it largely depends on your DS's MAC address. Some MAC addresses get good frames, some don't.
  9. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    Yeah I've been letting it search for like 5 minutes and the best I've gotten was an HP Fighting one (trying a timid spread). What's the highest frame you can go without it being ridiculous?
  10. NixHex

    NixHex Sometimes a man gets carried away.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,012
    OmegaDonut asked me to help anyone who asks me personally how to find their parameters. Stick to VM's, DO NOT PM ME. Here are the instructions though, which are likely what I will tell you if you message me.

    To everyone trying to find their DS parameters, here are the steps:
    0. Inform yourself that the current version of RNG Reporter only supports Japanese versions. Keep the C-gear turned OFF as not not screw up your seed.
    1. Enter your FULL MAC Adress (all 12 digits). OD actually recommends this for all MAC values in order to keep uniformity (plus, this value works for any place where you currently use 6 digits).
    2. Start the game at an arbitrary seconds value (you must know its range within a minute, not that hard).
    3. Encounter Cobalion (recommended), and catch with your master ball (do not save!!! you are only finding your parameters!)
    4. Verify its IVs. Three (3) Rare Candies are good enough to narrow it down to a very small range of IVs.
    5. Set your minimum seconds value to 0, and max to 59, since it will definitely lie within that range.
    6. Try every possible combo of IVs, and it will find your parameters for you.
    7. Here is a convo I had on irc with bond697 regarding emulators:

    [15:34] <Bond697> i see someone asked you about using an emulator
    [15:34] <Bond697> there are only 2 possible parameter sets for that
    [15:34] <Bond697> 1 with bus-level timing on and 1 with bus-level timing off
    [15:35] <Bond697> you also need to search wayyy different parameter sets than the default to find a working set
    [16:03] <LoLNixLunch> what do you mean by different parameters?
    [16:03] <LoLNixLunch> you mean different seeds/seconds values?
    [16:19] <Bond697> different vcount/timer0/vframe
    [16:20] <Bond697> it depends on whether the person has bus-level timing on or off
    [16:20] <Bond697> just fyi so you don;t end up confused later
    [16:28] <NixHex> okay
    [16:30] <NixHex> is there a default for bus-level timing in desmume or whatever emulater they choose to use?
    [17:01] <Bond697> i think it defaults to on
    [17:02] <Bond697> it's in the emulator config options
  11. FrenzyB3ar

    FrenzyB3ar

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    972
    When C-Gear searching, I'm using the European White version. It says either Japanese black or White so shall I just put in White regardless?
  12. Christian

    Christian

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946
    Can anybody find some spreads for me (C-Gear)?
    MAC address: EDE751E5OD4A
    Delay: 1600-6000
    Frame: >30


    Any good spreads like 31/31/31/31/31/31 or 31/x/31/31/31/31 or 31/31/31/x/31/31 oe good hidden powers since I don't know how to check by myself

    I'm using a retail cart, european game
  13. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    This is just for Non C Gear right? Also can anyone answer me what's the highest frame you can go before it becomes impossible?
  14. Fenix54

    Fenix54

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,488
    if I'm using an emulator,this method works? if yes,should I put in DS type custom?
    and,when entering in the game,should I turn on or off the cgear?
  15. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    Finally found a seed, but I need this question asked: In 4th Gen, I found my average seconds by calibration. I'm on step 1 of Hitting your C-Gear Seed and I need to know how have you guys figured out what seconds to use in the Seeds to Time?

    :EDIT:

    NVM
  16. Buckert

    Buckert Obsessive Collecting Disorder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,848
    Got my delay for 7 times now, but my syncher keeps failing. Is that just bad luck?
  17. Sprocket

    Sprocket P(n) = 1 - (1 - P(1))^n

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,735
    If you're using C-Gear, yes it's just bad luck. You want to let your DS sit for a couple seconds to further randomize the PIDRNG.
  18. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Yeah, that's pretty much the part that a lot of people are waiting on a change to. *already has IVs and reset time saved to an Excel document for whenever it happens :nerd:*

    Yes it is. Try saving once before your encounter, since that advances the PIDRNG by an extra 1 and might land you on the right nature. If that doesn't work, save twice, and as on and so forth.
  19. MMX

    MMX

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026
    Will this work if you use an AR? And, can you use sweet scent instead? I've already caught my stationaries.
  20. reklaw_vahn

    reklaw_vahn

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    AR changes how the DS starts. You can use your AR to find seeds, but this is VERY complicated and currently it is impossible to use with the RNGReporter, even for a Japanese game.

    It is possible, but not likely, that OmegaDonut will include the use of AR in the new reporter, but for now, it isn't possible in anyway.
  21. FrenzyB3ar

    FrenzyB3ar

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    972
    When C-Gear searching, I'm using the European White version. It says either Japanese black or White so shall I just put in White regardless?

    asking again, as Im checking IV's and they cant be found

    EDIT: Thanks man
  22. Sprocket

    Sprocket P(n) = 1 - (1 - P(1))^n

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,735
    For C-Gear RNG, the language version does not matter. You can simply ignore it.
  23. Buckert

    Buckert Obsessive Collecting Disorder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,848

    Yeah I'm doing C-Gear abuse on my retail Black card. So, I save or wait a few seconds after I did the frame advancements?


    Edit: Waiting a few seconds before I encountered it did the job for me! Finally got it. Thank you very much!
  24. NixHex

    NixHex Sometimes a man gets carried away.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,012
    Okay, I'm about to update my post with this.
    Caveats:
    1. This is for finding your parameters in order to use Standard seeds C-gear seeds can be found regardless of your region.
    2. DO NOT turn on your c-gear, because that defeats the whole purpose of this!
    3. I don't play on emulators so I really have no clue on that matter. Bond697 informed me that the parameters vary per emulator, but past that I have no clue. EDIT: for emulator info look down.
    4. You may use Sweet Scent. The RNG is seeded as soon as "The Pokemon Company" appears on the screen so there's no worrying about SS if that's your only option.

    Here is part of my convo with Bond697 regarding emulators:
    [15:34] <Bond697> i see someone asked you about using an emulator
    [15:34] <Bond697> there are only 2 possible parameter sets for that
    [15:34] <Bond697> 1 with bus-level timing on and 1 with bus-level timing off
    [15:35] <Bond697> you also need to search wayyy different parameter sets than the default to find a working set
    [16:03] <LoLNixLunch> what do you mean by different parameters?
    [16:03] <LoLNixLunch> you mean different seeds/seconds values?
    [16:19] <Bond697> different vcount/timer0/vframe
    [16:20] <Bond697> it depends on whether the person has bus-level timing on or off
    [16:20] <Bond697> just fyi so you don;t end up confused later
    [16:28] <NixHex> okay
    [16:30] <NixHex> is there a default for bus-level timing in desmume or whatever emulater they choose to use?
    [17:01] <Bond697> i think it defaults to on
    [17:02] <Bond697> it's in the emulator config options
  25. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    In Eon Timer, when you put the new delay in the "Delay Hit" box and you update it, do want the number in the "Calibration" box to say -1?

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)