1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

A New Tier

Discussion in 'Other Metagames' started by Dukewarrior13, Jul 31, 2013.

?

Is this Tier a good idea

1. Yes

50.0%
  2. No

50.0%
  1. Dukewarrior13

Dukewarrior13

[​IMG]
    Hello Smogoners, Smgonites and Smogonieers! First off let me say that I was confused on where to post this thread. I was about to post it in the Pokémon Showdown Forum, but I think it would end up better in the Suggestion Box since Pokémon Showdown and Smogon are deeply intertwined. Second, I would also like to inform you that I have been playing Pokémon competitively for two years and recreationally for another seven years. Enough about me, lets get on with the idea...

I propose that we should make a new tier on Pokémon Showdown. Tiers are designed to keep stronger Pokémon battling stronger Pokémon and weaker Pokémon battling weaker Pokémon. This is a great method except a certain group of Pokémon still are left in the dust despite being in their appropriate tier. What is this group of Pokémon you ask?

The Pokémon that don't evolve.

Pokémon who don't evolve are (most of the time) statistically weaker than Pokémon with evolution families. Also, Pokémon who don't evolve are excluded from the Little Cup tier, a tier in which contains Pokémon that have not yet evolved. Now, don't get me wrong. All Pokémon have a niche in the metagame, no matter how big or small. For example, I am currently running a moxie Mightyena as a sweeper on my OU team (It is working fantastically).