Other Metagames [AAA] Ascending (4-0 OMPL/OMGS, #2 Ladder Peak)

Laxpras

One small yeet for man, one giant yeet for mankind
banner by Akumeoy
Introduction

This is going to be my most intensive RMT, as its for a very successful team built for my favorite meta. The team is actually undefeated on ladder, Smogon tournaments, tournaments in tour room, and friendly challenges, but I clearly can't prove that, so take it as you want. What I can show you is that this is an extremely effective team that win games against the toughest competition, such as in OMPL and OMGS. The name has a double meaning: Personally I have risen as a player; I am fairly new to the competitive scene, but I was able to reach semifinals in my first OM Grand slam, as well as go 5-0 in AAA in my first OMPL. Also, the name is attributed to Volcanion's ascension to the top of the AAA theatlist in my mind. This might be a lengthy post, so I'll get going...
Teambuilding Process

I built this team right after the release of Volcanion, so it was centered around the new shiny toy. It has fun typing, move set, and stat spread, enabling it to run mixed sets. That’s what I initially did, employing a Choice Scarfed Adaptability set. However, I kept changing the team up and I eventually settled with Choice Specs Tinted Lens.

Thinking of Volcanion checks, I needed a way to beat Meloetta, Chansey, Suicune, Manaphy, and other general special defensively bulky mons and water types (since Volcanion was not originally Tinted Lens). I thought of Poison Heal Manaphy as a lure, as it has essentially the same checks, but almost all of them are severely hurt by Knock Off.

Here I added Choice Band Tyanitar simply because it’s too good not to use. When I switched Volcanion to Specs however, I changed Tyranitar to Scarf to maintain some speed control on the team.