An attempt at the ladder (First RMT)

Hi, I am Lixion, and I am new to the Smogon community, this being my first post on the forums. I am new to competitive battling in general, having started maybe around 2 months ago.

I heard about B2/W2 and the new formes and stuff, including interesting pokes such as Imposter Ditto, Techniloom and DD Outrage Moxiemence(*shudder*) and was really interested to try them out. Thus when PS! had the new formes released I immediately started to make a rain team utilizing the new threats BW2 brought. For those interested to know, I am currently rated 1708 on PS! ladder. Not that good, I know.

Anyways, on to the team.

TEAM BUILDING PROCESS

Since I had a rain team in mind, Politoed was a given. I decided to scarf it, since I am not a huge fan of defensive Politoed in general, as I feel it is a little underwhelming when matched up against certain threats. Thundurus-Therian was my first chosen sweeper, for his ridiculous 145 SpA.

Here I decided to insert some walls. Really, I decided to use Jirachi because I was getting a little tired of using Ferrothorn all the time, and also I thought my team could use some paralysis support and Wishes. Skarmory was my choice for a physical wall, and also to lay down some Spikes and phaze.

Since I had a special sweeper in Thundurus, it would make sense for me to add a physical one next. I chose Gyarados, as his typing goes well with Thundurus's new Volt Absorb (sorta like Gyaravire back in the days), it lures out Electric type attacks and gives free HP to Thundurus unless they overpredict. It also alleviates Thundurus's Stealth Rock weakness.

I'm sure you all can see that both my sweepers have a glaring Stealth Rock weakness. Thus a spinner was required. Since this is a fairly offensive team, Starmie was my choice for a spinner. Thus forms the original version of the team.