1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

B&W Research Thread

Discussion in 'BW Competitive Discussion' started by ΩDonut, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. MB Espeon

    MB Espeon

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    350
    Ugh, skill swap chains.

    Anyhow, just tested it with normalize skitty relayed to skill swap reuniclus relayed to a volcarona with will-o-wisp, against a wild drifblim in double grass. It burned drifblim, yes. And to be sure I did it right, I used bug buzz from the same volcarona on drifblim the turn after, where it gave the "It didn't affect Drifblim" message.

    So yeah, will-o-wisp is akin to, say, hypnosis on dark types, where the typing of the move in itself makes no difference on what it can and cannot affect.
  2. RBG

    RBG It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
    is a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,330
    If Keldeo learns Secret Sword in BW, and then is transferred to B2W2, will it change to resolution form or not?
  3. shrang

    shrang Reaction to Ubers ladder
    is a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Moderatoris a Tiering Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,230
    Okay, there's something I want to ask about Ditto. When an Imposter Ditto transforms into a Pokemon with different formes that alter with items (ie Arceus and Giratina), does it transform into that forme as well, even when it doesn't carry the item it's supposed to carry? For example, if I switch Choice Scarf Imposter Ditto into an opponent's Rock Arceus, does Ditto transform into Rock Arceus even without Stone Plate, or does it transform into Normal Arceus? If I switch it into Giratina-O, does it transform into Giratina-O or Giratina-A, knowing that I do not carry Griseus Orb?
  4. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    It works just like Transform. Read the Bulbapedia page on Transform to answer your questions.
  5. The Immortal

    The Immortal Administrator of Showdown!
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Tiering Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    I have tested in-game and found two moves that are incorrect.

    1) Embargo is blocked by Subsitute
    2) Heal Block is blocked by Substitute
  6. Zog

    Zog

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Just encountered something seriously odd on Random Wifi, was wondering if anyone could think how this happened:

    Battle video is 61-27878-07548, turn 8 I think

    Choice scarf Chandelure Vs. rocky helmet Ferrothorn, Ferrothorn uses Shadow Claw, nothing happens, and it gives the "But it failed!" message. Shadow Claw works fine afterwards though.

    The only thing I can come up with is, maybe Shadow Claw's bugged in some way like RBY's 1/252 misses or 1/65536 masterball failure. Either way it's weird, lol. But since it's not a common move and I've never seen this with any other moves, it's probably a specific bug.
  7. Marty D

    Marty D Bug Catcher
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    This should answer your question: Transform and Imposter mechanics

    The only explanation for Shadow Claw failing in that situation is that the player with Ferrothorn accidentally targeted its ally's position with Shadow Claw the first time. Since there was no target at the time, it fails.
  8. Zog

    Zog

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Yeah, I thought of that, but at the time it uses shadow claw there isn't actually another target. I'm pretty sure that trying to hit a non-existant partner doesn't work, too.
  9. Marty D

    Marty D Bug Catcher
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    You are always allowed to select your partner's position, and any adjacent position really, with single-target attacks, even if there is no Pokemon at that position.

    Go in a wild double battle with two Pokemon on hand and get one of your own Pokemon knocked out, then try to attack the empty space and see what happens.
  10. Death Phenomeno

    Death Phenomeno I'm polite so just for clarity, when I'm cross I
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    884
    Can anyone confirm if this still happens in the sequels?

    Thanks in advance.
  11. Marty D

    Marty D Bug Catcher
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    It does indeed still happen; both a Skarmory and a Jumpluff holding Iron Ball took neutral damage from Mud Shot when used on them.

    On a somewhat related note, I haven't seen it mentioned in this thread but the Sky Drop glitch still exists in B2W2, as well as Sheer Force boosted moves negating Life Orb recoil, among other things. I'd wager that Game Freak didn't fix/change any battle mechanics just to preserve Wi-Fi compatibility between the prequels and sequels. I wouldn't mind if I'm wrong about this though.
  12. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,401
    Did some testing regarding what is needed to rename Pokémon by the name rater in White. Here are my findings:

    Only SID is different - no go
    Only game version is different - no go (this means all previous gen Pokémon cannot be renamed)
    Only OT gender is different - no go
    Wondercard Pokémon with the same OT and game version - yes
    Wondercard Pokémon with the same OT and different game version - no go

    Edit: For Wondercard Pokémon that can be obtained on any 5th gen game the Pokémon uses the game version of the save it was obtained on. Meaning one can RNG for a TID/SID combo for an upcoming event that they plan on getting on their game card.
  13. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,401
    This has it slightly differently
    Subtle but important difference.
  14. UltiMario

    UltiMario

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    So was it ever double checked if LO and Sheer Force work the same in BW2?
  15. The Immortal

    The Immortal Administrator of Showdown!
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Tiering Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    It does work the same, I have checked myself in addition to Marty-D.
  16. Jellicent

    Jellicent ~the spirit who loves spirits~
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Community Contributor Alumnus
    Ruiner of Alph

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,328
    I have a few questions about Flash Fire, but I'm not sure if they've already been answered (I couldn't find anything on them, but I might've just missed it >.>)

    I know Flash Fire boosts the power of Fire-type moves by 50%. Will being hit by multiple Fire-type attacks boost it further? More importantly, if yes, does it boost by 50% each time, or does it work similar to a stat boost, doing 1.5 for one, 2 for two, etc.? Is there a max (such as 6 for regular stats)?

    Also, can Flash Fire boosts be Baton Passed?

    If Imposter Ditto switches into something with a Flash Fire boost, does it obtain that boost the way it would obtain a normal stat boost?

    If a Flash Fire Pokemon receives a Flash Fire boost, but then loses Flash Fire as its ability, does it lose the Flash Fire boost along with it?

    I read that HP Electric doesn't boost Motordrive (iirc) because it's technically a Normal-type attack. Does HP Fire activate Flash Fire, and does a Flash Fire boost increase the power of HP Fire?
  17. Biosci

    Biosci !
    is a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a VGC3 Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,470
    Flash Fire boosts don't stack

    No they can't

    I'm unsure

    If the ability goes, then the boost goes.

    HP Fire does activiate Flash Fire(But I'm being told that HP Electric does activate Motordrive!).
  18. MB Espeon

    MB Espeon

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    350
    Front page covers and links to an instance where a type-based ability activates off of hidden power (in fact, it was the motor drive example.)

    Seconding that yes, hidden power fire activates flash fire. Tested it on my Black version and everything. I also did the same with Sap Sipper (since I found a grass hidden power user) and that activated on hidden power grass as well.

    Honestly, this post is more of an extra confirmation thing.
  19. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    My description for Flash Fire:

    "Whenever a Fire-type attack by another Pokémon targets bearer (even non-damaging ones, even if bearer is frozen, and even if the attack is otherwise ineffective against it), that attack is ineffective against bearer, and Attack and Special Attack for Fire-type attacks by bearer is multiplied by 1.5 (effect is not cumulative) until bearer isn't active or bearer doesn't have this Ability."

    Accordingly:

    1. The effect of Flash Fire is not cumulative: "Attack and Special Attack for Fire-type attacks by bearer is multiplied by 1.5 (effect is not cumulative)..."
    2. The effect is not a stat stage change, confusion, or the effect of a move, so it can't be passed with Baton Pass.
    3. Imposter's effect changes the Pokemon's Ability, so it has the same effect of Flash Fire: "When bearer becomes active, its ... Ability ... [becomes that] of the Pokémon it's facing ..."
    4. Yes: "Attack and Special Attack for Fire-type attacks by bearer is multiplied by 1.5 ... until ... bearer doesn't have this Ability."


    Motor Drive affects types of attacks, rather than types of moves, so effects that change an attack's type to Electric, such as Hidden Power, are affected by Motor Drive: "Whenever an Electric-type attack ... by another Pokémon targets bearer [etc.]". (The type of the move Hidden Power is Normal, but the attack's type
    can vary.)
  20. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    Because this wasn't listed in Justified's description, or on any highly-cited Pokémon resource (i.e. Veekun, Smogon, or Bulbapedia), I had to test to see if Justified activated if the Dark-type move hit a Substitute. (It doesn't.)

    Also tested to see if Oblivious had received a secret boost like Mental Herb had, blocking Taunt\Disable\etc. Doesn't do that either.
  21. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    This just in: Storm Drain and Lightningrod do, in fact, redirect Hidden Power in 5th Gen, contrary to Smogon's description.
    <Marty> for those interested, here's Hidden Power Electric and Water being drawn by Lightningrod and Storm Drain, respectively: 92-08552-99074

    User: V4 pointed out that Serene Grace doesn't seem to boost Secret Power's chance of effect. xfr just confirmed this.

    <xfr> seems that secret power isn't boosted by serene grace after all
    <xfr> it has its own trigger at 21E11FC
    <xfr> which uses a hard coded rand(30)
    <xfr> that's a feature not a bug
  22. Dragonfree

    Dragonfree

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Smogon's description of Mist in B/W incorrectly states that it "Does not prevent stats from being lowered by the side-effects of attacking moves, such as Seed Flare." I just tested this on my Black, twice to be sure; both times, Icy Wind hit and dealt damage but did not lower Speed when Mist was in effect.

    If anyone cares, I was using a Cryogonal and battling a wild Vanillite; it should not affect the results, since their abilities don't have anything to do with stat stages or effect chances.
  23. Cereza

    Cereza Tastes Like Candy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    I tested both scenarios and it looks like Dragonfree is right; Mist does prevent stats from being lowered by side-effects.
    same is true for Electroweb
  24. MB Espeon

    MB Espeon

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    350
    I know this is really minor but for the sake of thoroughness...

    Air Balloon isn't popped when hit by the "bursting flame" side-damage from Flame Burst.

    Found this out (on accident) on my Black card in the doubles subway, with Tyranitar as the balloon holder and Excadrill as the main target of flame burst. The balloon was still shown in the pokémon menu, and to be extra thorough Excadrill used an earthquake afterwards that "didn't affect" Tyranitar.
  25. UltiMario

    UltiMario

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    I saw this scenario on PS happen earlier today, and it feels... wrong. Would someone test this in-game?

    Porygon 2 switched in on Heatran. Got Flash Fire. Rotom-W switches into Porygon. It goes for the WoW, but Porygon used Magic Coat.

    In PS, Porygon 2 simply absorbed the WoW with Flash Fire rather than reflecting it back at Rotom-W, can anyone confirm if this is how it works in-game as well?

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)