1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Bug Reports v2.0 (READ OP BEFORE POSTING!!)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Antar, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Sorry, we were working on some things; they've been fixed now.
  2. Pikachuun

    Pikachuun

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,288
    When I try to get onto Pokemon Showdown's main server, I get a message from CloudFlare saying that the website is currently unreachable/offline. A 502 Proxy error occurs when I try to go on other servers besides the main one. Am I the only one who is experiencing this problem or is this a server-side issue, and is there anything I can do to get around this if it is just my computer?
  3. Gavin313

    Gavin313

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    It's not just you. I'm getting the same thing. It might be related to the crash last night.
  4. Shame That

    Shame That cheerio
    is a Battle Server Moderatoris a Contributor Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    This is indeed affecting multiple users. Showdown seems to be inaccessible for anyone who was not already on the server before the crash, which started locking out any user who exited / refreshed.
  5. Pyramid King

    Pyramid King

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Yup looks like we are down again.. Hopefully it doesn't take as long as last time did. :(
  6. Imranfr0

    Imranfr0

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I have the same problem :c
  7. Chris Masamune

    Chris Masamune

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Yeah I'm getting the Cloudflare error page. I'm just belaboring the point but yeah, it's down.
    Edit: Nevermind! Back up. Yaaay
  8. Aerodactyl Legend

    Aerodactyl Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133
    Backing this up.

    Also, I found that Life Orb recoil still happens when hitting a Pokemon behind a Substitute.
  9. No Luck Involved

    No Luck Involved

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,770
    Don't know if this has been brought up before but you can leave a battle and wait for the timer to count down until 1 second and then rejoin and win the battle before your opponent can react. This replay shows what I mean:

    http://www.pokemonshowdown.com/replay/randombattle-16674435

    I hope something can be implemented so that the timer resets when a player rejoins after leaving.
  10. Detective Dell

    Detective Dell Winter Hibernation of the Yarnasauruses
    is a Battle Server Moderatoris a Team Rater Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    Yeah that's just fucking disgraceful... the timer should not arbitrarily have the same effect on both players if one of them already initiated their move (assuming No Luck Involved actually did this and I'm pretty sure that this was the case), especially considering that the opposing player did leave.

    Please find a solution to fix this; what a horrible way to potentially claim unearned victories.
  11. callforjudgement

    callforjudgement

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    The display of my opponent's Pokémon (the small sprites beside the battlefield that show the sprites) displayed them with two Jolteons, even though they were respecting Species Clause: http://www.pokemonshowdown.com/replay/doublesvgc2013-16698303

    I only noticed at the end of the battle. They were using some unusual items (Eject Button and/or Red Card, I forget which), that might be related.
  12. blahpy

    blahpy

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I'm going to assume that this is a bug:

    Earlier playing hackmons a player had used trick to give my Ferrothorn a choice band. My Ferrothorn carries magic bounce, and, naturally, later in the game I switched it in to reflect Spore and roar out my opponent's Giratina. However, due to reflecting Spore, Choice Band proceeded to lock me into Spore. I can only assume that this is a bug.

    I saved a replay of the battle here: http://www.pokemonshowdown.com/replay/hackmons-16712561
  13. Alter

    Alter let me down easy
    is a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    666
    Whenever I'm on one account and I get kicked from the server for whatever reason, when I log back on I always cannot reconnect using the name I got kicked with. This is extremely frustrating as I lose games which I could have easily won. It comes up with the text "Someone is already using the name ____."

    Screenshot for reference.
  14. MikeDecIsHere

    MikeDecIsHere And the haters gonna hate hate hate hate hate.
    is a Battle Server Moderatoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,535
  15. Dre89

    Dre89

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Didn't see this in the known bugs section, so I might as well mention that toxic is wrong in gen1. In gen1, it's supposed to revert back to normal poison once you switch out, but currently it doesn't.
  16. Isa

    Isa

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    In the replay that MikeDec showed, at turn 26, Rhydon dies before Chansey gets to move. With proper mechanics, this should result in Chansey not being able to move, but in the replay, Chansey gets to move despite the foe having died previously that turn. This is a bug.

    The reason why Recover failed in that particular replay though, is that Starmie had (Max HP - 255) current HP. Starmie has 323 HP and had 22% when Recover failed. 323*0,78 is ~251 and 323*0,79 is ~255 (slightly above), which given how the rounding works on PS!, means that Starmie could and most probably had 68 HP (which is 323-255) at the time of using Recover. Therefore, Recover failing in that instance is not a bug.
  17. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    This has been fixed. Sorry about it. :(
  18. No Luck Involved

    No Luck Involved

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,770
    Thanks! Couldn't believe that sort of thing was happening!
  19. MeteorMiss

    MeteorMiss

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    I'm just speculating here, but couldn't this allow a player to stall indefinitely? He could just leave the room, wait a bit, rejoin (thus having the timer reset), and repeat. Might it be better to have the timer run only for one side, but reset for the other?
  20. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    What's "this"? Rejoining doesn't reset the timer.
  21. Joim

    Joim All promises become a lie, all that's bening corrups in time
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis an Administrator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,508
    Healing moves failing is not a bug, as for the others I'm puzzled for they usted to work correctly... In fact I tested fainting this morning. I'll work on this gen 1 issues.
  22. Ballofire

    Ballofire Banned deucer.

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Rotom W isn't showing up for me (sprite)
  23. Jean mi

    Jean mi

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    When I tried to play gen1, it won't let me using Surf on Lapras despite being legal, after all, Lapras is used for transporting people right ? I loved surfing on Lapras when I played RBY :p.
    Hydro pump is fine though.
  24. TheMantyke

    TheMantyke slow
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Team Rater Alumnus
    VGC Leader

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,464
  25. Deiko240

    Deiko240

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    some player use a chandelure with shadow tag in OU duel, and i was can escape 3 times (lucario, heatran, ferrothorn)

    sorry for my bad english

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)