1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Bug Reports v2.0 (READ OP BEFORE POSTING!!)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Antar, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    I don't see a replay of it in the archives- Hence, this is guesswork. If something like this happens again, save the replay so we can see if anything led up to it.

    However, what I think happened is that you used a move like U-turn in the sense that you attack then have to do something else (in U-turn's case, pick a pokemon to come in). Like a lot of people, you didn't notice that you had to, and the battle stopped, and you thought your opponent was stalling or whatever. So once you hit the timer and waited, you lost instead of your opponent, since you were the one who wasn't ready.
    It's an honest mistake, and one a lot players have made before.
    Hopefully I helped!
  2. G-Von

    G-Von

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    My opponent had left the battle and the only button I could possibly press was "claim victory". Every other button disappears. I will at least save a replay next time.
  3. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    In the replay, it shows them as two separate turns. Volt Switch should fail when it hits a Lightningrod user.
    Kitten Milk likes this.
  4. BIGH1001

    BIGH1001

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    when i opened ps my team was erased, even after i backed the team up. if this isnt the place to bring this up, please guide me to the right thread
  5. MCBarrett

    MCBarrett i love it when you call me big hoppa

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    http://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/ou-53432828 (skip to turn 9)

    Turn 9:
    Dragonite 76%

    Landorus-Therian used Hidden Power!
    It's super effective! The foe's Dragonite lost 52.8% of its health!

    The foe's Dragonite used Dragon Dance!
    The foe's Dragonite's Attack rose!
    The foe's Dragonite's Speed rose!

    Turn 10:
    Dragonite 23%


    The foe's Dragonite used Roost!
    The foe's Dragonite regained health!

    Dragonite 73%

    Landorus-Therian used Hidden Power!
    A critical hit! It's super effective! The foe's Dragonite lost 48.2% of its health!

    So it seems that the server thought that Dragonite was at Multiscale when it really wasn't. I'm not sure if this happens often (I've never seen it before) but just thought I would bring it to someone's attention.



  6. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    Roost removes a Pokemon's Flying-type the turn it is used.

    That's caught me before too.
    MCBarrett likes this.
  7. Pikachuun

    Pikachuun

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    HP Ice in 1st instance: 2x effective [4 / 2]
    HP Ice in 2nd instance: 4x effective [2 * 2 because crit]
    2*damage > 4*damage

    EHHHHHH???
  8. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    Dragonite didn't have Multiscale in the first turn - it started at 76%.
  9. Pikachuun

    Pikachuun

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Oh. My mistake.
    Arcticblast likes this.
  10. kokiri

    kokiri

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys. The same error happened to me twice, and for what I read, it's not a known bug yet.
    Happened as follows:

    I was battling against an opponent with Shadow Tag >>> I tried to switch >>> error message warning me I can't (duh) >>> no interface options to do anything, besides "wait for my opponent" and wait for the timer to run out.
    I got two screenshots from the battles (one with a raging player and the other more civilized).
    Hope it can be fixed soon, or it's just me not dealing right with things.
    Untitled-1.jpg Untitled-2.jpg
  11. Moose V

    Moose V

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    540
    Found a moveslot problem with Gothorita.
    When I tried to use a shadow tag Goth w/ moves: imprison, rest, heal bell, toxic (clever ik), I got a message telling me that imprison was incompatible with another move. This doesn't make sense, however, as you can see here that shadow tag definitely should be allowed with imprison. Here we can see that Goth gets rest, heal bell and toxic either from move tutors or from TMs so these moves should not cause a compatibility issue.
  12. Chou Toshio

    Chou Toshio @Fighting Necktie
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris an Artist Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,222
    So, I experienced a really weird bug with Speed. A +1 Dragonite outsped my Choice Scarf + Tailwind Timid Politoed.

    Turn 30

    Tornadus used Tailwind!
    The tailwind blew from behind your team!
    The foe's Dragonite used Outrage!
    Tornadus lost 62.9% of its health!
    Tornadus fainted!
    The foe's Dragonite's rampage ended!
    The foe's Dragonite became confused!
    You have 150 seconds to make your decision.
    Go! Politoed!
    Turn 31
    Chou Toshio: Scarf + Tailwind Toed Ice Beam coming your way
    The foe's Dragonite is confused!
    It hurt itself in its confusion!

    Politoed used Ice Beam!
    It's super effective! The foe's Dragonite lost 17% of its health!
    The foe's Dragonite fainted!
    Chou Toshio won the battle!
    Ladder updating...

    Obviously, Scarf + Tailwind Politoed cannot be outsped by a +1 Dragonite. Obviously though, Dragonite hit itself in confusion before Politoed could attack.


    Here is the replay: http://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/ou-53754630
  13. Manitary

    Manitary

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    I think he was trying to use Extremespeed so he went first
    DHR-107, Arcticblast and Moose V like this.
  14. Pikachuun

    Pikachuun

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    It is possible to win by forfeiting, through a very specific series of events.

    Process: Both players must leave (Your foe must also be defined as p1 in the battle), then you must rejoin and then leave again. Get someone else to join, and then rejoin. With any luck, your perspective will be reversed (Your opponent is you and vice versa). Forfeit, and you'll get a message similar to: "Blarginson forfeited. Blarginson won the battle!"

    I'll put the replay in this post when I'm not on my phone.

    EDIT: http://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/customgame-54401875
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
  15. Hollywood

    Hollywood she's thin, she's blonde, she says "wow" a lot
    is a Tutoris a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Smogon IRC SOPis a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributor
    Other Metas Leader

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,845
    This isn't a huge problem because you can only join a battle from a perspective other than your own in unrated battles, but it's being looked into anyways.
  16. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    <Aromatisse> http://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/ubers-55161015
    <TIBot> ccjl vs LovingYourBooty | Ubers | Rated
    <Aromatisse> Mild error with Explosion on turn 4, doesn't seem to have affected the battle though
    <Aromatisse> TheImmortal, do you think you could look in to that?
    <TheImmortal> k
    <victini> not sure why that parse error came out
    <victini> even though the message still ended up being displayed
    <Aromatisse> Oh!
    <Aromatisse> it appears that Arceus's move never happened that turn
    <victini> "But there was no target..."
    <victini> basically Arceus tried to use earthquake on a dead enemy
    <Aromatisse> well it happened, but the display of the move is where the error is I guess
    <Aromatisse> it should have still said "Arceus used Earthquake!"
    <Aromatisse> but because Genesect was gone it messed up
    <victini> I think I can see the bug now
    <victini> |move|p2a: Arceus|Earthquake|p1: Genesect|[notarget]
    <victini> It shold be p1a: Genesect
    <victini> well
    <victini> or maybe it shouldn't, because earthquake affects everyone
    <victini> but that would be a parser error then
    <victini> ZARLE--
  17. V4Victini

    V4Victini [22:01] <&Stellar> I'm gonna edit ALL the YAML files
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    ExtremeSpeed
  18. trg

    trg

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    I've run into a really nasty bug that is costing me matches... My Alakazam keeps getting outsped by stuff it should clearly not be such as the Lati twins, Espeon, and Starmie. It's the typical Focus Sash Alakazam with max speed (Timid nature) with Encore instead of HP Ice as my only means of dealing with sub CM Latias/Jirachi.

    Here's a pic for proof:
    [​IMG]

    And yet this keeps happening:

    Turn 11

    The foe's Latios used Surf!
    Alakazam lost 67.1% of its health!
    The foe's Latios lost some of its HP!

    Alakazam used Signal Beam!
    It's super effective! The foe's Latios lost 3.0% of its health!

    The foe's Latios fainted!

    Why am I outsped by a LO Latios when I'm max speed (my opponent never used Tailwind)?? Here's the replay log: http://pokemonshowdown.com/replay/ou-55603581

    At first I just ignored this issue since I thought it would just fix itself but this has happened enough times for me to finally post about it (as you can tell by my post count I hardly post in the first place).

    I'll post more evidence of this happening as I go along just in case if just one occurrence isn't enough evidence. This is getting extremely infuriating.
  19. mistertrololo

    mistertrololo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    trg...
    you have 0 IV's on that Alakazam, lowering your speed with 31
    maybe thats why you are outsped by lati twins (350) etc
  20. trg

    trg

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    God damn it can't believe it took me 3 full days to realize that. *facepalm*

    Well I'm glad that issue is solved. Thanks! :)
  21. mistertrololo

    mistertrololo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I have a bug to report as well ( I think it's a bug )

    This was the situation: My Choice Specs Keldeo vs his Rhyperior (solid rock)
    I used Hydro Pump , and he had a Passho Berry, and did 0 % ?????
    He was like: I have a Passho Berry and Solid Rock, and the percentage was rounded down, that's why it did 0 %
    But I calced it: (assuming he was the tank set)

    252 SpA Choice Specs Keldeo Hydro Pump vs. 248 HP / 244 SpD Passho Berry Solid Rock Rhyperior: 499-589 (115.24 - 136.02%) -- guaranteed OHKO

    I was like wtf, I don't know what this is, but something is wrong, so thats why I'm here : )
  22. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    Do you have a replay of the battle?
  23. mistertrololo

    mistertrololo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    stupidly enough, I don't : (
  24. Vyro

    Vyro

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    This is an indirect result of me screwing around with the new Gen 6 stuff, but I just tried something, and got a different error message than the usual one when trying to enter a battle with a gen 6 team plus Politoed

    I got the usual "THIS POKEMON DOES NOT EXIST" stuff, but PS! also gave me a strange one on top of it.

    "You are limited to one of each pokemon by Species Clause. (You have more than one Malamar)"

    Despite PS! kicking me out of the match finder anyway for having illegal mons, it appears as if program somehow mistook Politoed for an additional Malamar, as it gave me a normal "Does not exist" error for everyone except Malamar and Politoed, who were apparently only banned because they were somehow both Malamar.
  25. oSeasons

    oSeasons
    is a Tiering Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    121

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)