1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Conkeldurr/Darmanitan leads?

Discussion in 'VGC' started by DeepSpeed, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DeepSpeed

DeepSpeed

Hi guys, I've been browsing and using Smogon for quite a few years, but I didn't actually aquire the luxury of posting until recently. I'll be competing in the San Jose tournament on May 21st, and I was wondering: Would a Conkeldurr/Darmanitan leading duo be better than Hydreigon/Jellicent leading? I suspect Volcaronas will be quite common in the VGC, so a quick Rock Slide from Conkeldurr would OHKO them (It wouldn't really be quick, I'm not planning a Choice Scarf set). It would be my main powerhouse, but with such an EQ prone partner I don't know if I should keep the Darma/Conkel duo. Opinions please, I'm thinking about Terrakion and Excadrill, but with no Sand Veil pokes this gen I don't really want to worry about using sandstorm every couple of turns. I also predict Excadrills will be extremely common as well, so I wouldn't want to go Sandstorm versus Sandtorm every other battle.

FYI, my current theoretical team will be Conkeldurr/Darmanitan and Hydreigon/Jellicent. I'll worry about EVs/IVs/Natures/Items later, just trying to work on the Synergy.
  2. voodoo pimp

voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

This should probably go in the SQSA thread.

Anyway, I'd be most concerned with the fact that that lead doesn't match up very well against non-goodstuff teams. Does poorly against two of the three most threatening TR mons, and Taunt would be too slow to stop any other kind of setup.
  3. JRank

JRank
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

lol