1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Downhill with a Tail Wind (Anti-Metagame Tailwind team - wait, TAILWIND?!)

Discussion in 'BW Other Teams' started by Adamant Zoroark, Aug 11, 2013.

1. Adamant Zoroark

Adamant Zoroark formerly LucaroarkZ

I got bored. Decided I wanted to do some VGC 2013.

Problem: I am completely new to VGC 2013.

For a long time, VGC was a metagame I wanted to avoid for many reasons, such as the absence of Sleep and Evasion Clauses, as well as the presence of DrizzleSwim and Excadrill. However, I decided that I wanted to attend VGC 2014. I know VGC 2014 will be with Pokemon X and Y, but I may as well get used to what VGC is basically like right now by playing some VGC 2013, right?

I decided to get a bit creative with this team. I wanted to use... Tailwind. Yes, Tailwind. Because... Well, why not? Also, because I was bored. However, this did nothing about my two most major beefs with VGC: DrizzleSwim and Excadrill. So I decided to fix that. Not with Abomasnow or some shit like that, but with something nobody would expect: Lickilicky.

Yes, I know what you're thinking: What the fuck?

So, Lickilicky actually has respectable bulk; 110/95/95 is nothing to sneeze at. It also doesn't have a complete and utter shit defensive typing like Abomasnow. Also, Abomasnow would damage every single one of my other members; ain't nobody got time for that!

Lickilicky is really why this team is "anti-metagame;" It basically allows me to say, "Fuck weather," and... Well, weather is fucking everywhere.

Anyway, took the team for a spin, and it's been working amazingly; so far it's gone undefeated. I'm surprised; this is my first VGC 2013 team and it's already doing well.

So.... Here's the team:

[​IMG]

Salamence @ Yache Berry
    Trait: Intimidate
    Level: 50