EV spreads: Offensive or defensive?

Hello folks!

I'm quite new to VGC and competetive pokemon as a whole. After I've played around with a more-or-less copy pasted team for a few weeks I'm starting to build another team and I've run into the ever-present question of EVs.

The question is essentially: What is better in VGC 2016, bulk or offense?

The specific pokemon that spawned this question is my untrained physical groudon. After doing a bit of research I found this really cool page:
http://australianterrain.hatenablog.com/entry/2015/12/16/032733
Where a suggested build allows groudon to survive a full powered earth power from another primal groudon. It made me wonder if it was really worth the investment for what you give up in speed and health. I do realise this specific question ties into wether a special defensive investment is worth it aswell ^^

I know that this all ties into personal preference and the team as a whole, but despite that I would really like to hear the general thoughts of more experienced VGC players on the topic.

vgc 2016 is currently really hyper-offensive, as with most beggining metas. Many run a bit of speed, but I perosnally run bulky as it helps me tank all sorts of things. In the end it comes down to your team. If u are running rayogre go for speed. Trick room go for bulk, double primal balance and big six leaning more to the speedy side, or just full speed stuff

There are 2 things with groudon: either let it live an earth power, or run max speed and hit hard. I prefer the latter, but bulk is useful under TR. Basically, the spread you choose is usually dependent on your team.

I make overtly complicated EV spreads, most of which revolve around tanking critical hits, and aside from obvious glass mons like Raichu and Alakazam, I basically never use 252/252/4 spreads.