VGC Fame, Mooshrooms and big-brand washing machines

What is your opinion of the team (only answer if you have experience in VGC)?

• Total voters

Martin

A monoid in the category of endofunctors
is a Smogon Discord Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
Introduction
I've been playing the VGC format for two years now, but I've decided to go to an actual event for the first time this year: I took a trip to UK nationals. It was a lot of fun; I made new friends and I did really well - barely missing out on top cut. I spent 6 months teambuilding, and this is my teambuilding process.

Teambuilding Process

I decided that I'd build around a supportive Charti Berry Talonflame. I EVd it to outpace and Quick Guard against Kangaskhan on the turn it mega evolves to prevent it from using Fake Out, maxed out attack and dumped the rest into HP to increase its bulk.

I wanted something to beat Rock-types for Talonflame, and Scizor fit the bill perfectly. I originally ran Occa Berry on it to let it take some Fire-type moves, but I very quickly realized that Occa Berry was useless and decided to give it Lum Berry as burns were all over the place.

I decided to use a team choice core of Tyranitar and Mega Charizard Y. While it seems wierd on paper, it is actually not so wierd in practice. It lets me deal with either sandstorm or sun when I see opponents with them, and I brought one or the other to every single match. Tyranitar was originally going to be a fully physical Chople Berry set, but it was too weak and Will-O-Wisp and Intimidate were everywhere, so I decided to change it to a physically-based mix with Ice Beam.

Aegislash and Venusaur were mainly fillers for my team, with Aegislash being a mixed set and Venusaur being the standard set. Aegislash had Lum Berry while Scizor held Occa Berry, but I very quickly reallized that having these pokémon made my team overly weak to Talonflame, Rotom-H and Mega Charizard Y.