Featured LC Player of the Week 11: Rowan

second installment of the revived player of the week, blah blah blah

Rowan
Favorite Pokemon: Aipom
Most Known For: cutest user n_n
Playstyle: Balance
Most Used Pokemon: Ponyta
Kavatika: Tell us a little about yourself?

Rowan: I am a 19 year-old music student from England. I play the flute and guitar primarily but can play the piano and banjo to a semi-decent level as well, and I mostly concentrate on composition in my degree. I am pretty laid back in real life (sometimes a bit too laid back) and my main hobbies mostly include music (obviously), Pokemon and drinking hefty amounts of alcohol on the weekend.

Kavatika: How and when did you start playing LC? Do you remember your first team?

Rowan: I started playing LC back in the days of Shoddy battle - a user named Psykout22 was asking for LC battles in the main chat. I asked him what LC was, he explained, and I quickly built a team to challenge him. If I recall correctly it contained randomly picked Pokemon like Rattata, with 252/252 EV spreads, and Psykout basically demolished me... Anyway, after he explained the metagame a bit more, he sort of became my unofficial tutor and I managed to become semi-decent at DPP LC. I quit for about a year during 2010 and I came back to BW LC just after the ban of Carvanha and Meditite, and I've been here ever since.

Kavatika: So were you on Smogon when this happened?

Rowan: Yeah I was a new member who was then known as 'steelwing'. I didn't really post at all back then.

Kavatika: 'steelwing'? Why did you pick that name?

Rowan: Because steel wing had a cool animation in DPP haha. It also sounded kinda cool I guess. Well it certainly sounded cool to 14 year-old me anyway.

Kavatika: What is your favorite element of LC?