[First RMT] Damp Tenacity

Hey, all! I'm an avid Pokemon fan who's recently gotten into competitive play. I've always had a thing for water- and grass-type Pokemon, so naturally Rain Dance teams have sparked my interest. For a while now I've been messing around with several builds, though lately my focus has been on rain stalling. A few days ago I stumbled upon Smogon's profile for Parasect, a grass-type Pokemon I absolutely adore. In combination with Drizzle, the mushroom bug performs solidly as a Spore-SubSeed staller. This team is built around that concept, essentially combining entry hazards and late-game switchouts forced by Spore-Seed to slowly wear down the opponents. I'm new to Smogon forums, so this is also my first RMT.

The team has been doing pretty well so far, though advice and tweaks from more experienced players will hopefully further ameliorate it. Any and all suggestions are welcome; however, I really want to keep Parasect on the team, which is what it was built around in the first place. So, without further ado, I present you our team members. Changes made to the team following discussion will be bolded.

Politoed @

Trait: Drizzle
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Def / 4 SpD
Relaxed Nature (+Def, -Spe)
IVs: 0 Spe
- Scald
- Toxic
- Protect
- Perish Song

The permanent rain summoner, Politoed is a necessity to any Rain Dance team. I opted for a standard, bulky set to ensure longevity and outlive other weather inducers. Scald receives a nice rain-STAB boost and a handy burn rate to scare physical attackers, Toxic breaks down walls and injures Ninetales, Protect is useful for scouting and additional leftover recovery, and Perish Song impedes set-up sweepers and (to an extent) Baton Pass chains. The reason I went with a -Spe nature and 0 Spe IVs is to set up weather first turn versus standard Tyranitar and Abomasnow support sets.

Chansey @

Trait: Natural Cure
EVs: 4 HP / 252 Def / 252 SpD
Bold Nature (+Def, -Atk)
- Stealth Rock
- Seismic Toss
- Softboiled