First RMT: Possibly Standard

Possibly Standard

So I've never done an RMT before, and I'm not fantastic at this or anything, but I was just playing around with the idea of a Dual Weather team. Turns out they aren't as awful as I've always thought.

In fact, they're quite decent. The key for me is not to focus on what weather is up right now, but rather to take advantage of whatever is up. Even if that weather isn't your weather.

The Team

The Details

Tyranitar @ Choice Band
Trait: Sand Stream
EVs: 252 Atk / 148 HP / 108 Spd
Adamant Nature
- Crunch
- Stone Edge
- Superpower
- Pursuit

So, the first half of the dual weather team. The choices were Offensive T-tar, Defensive Hippowdon and Defensive T-tar. But I've never really thought of weather-setters as great defensive choices, because if an unlucky crit gets in there, you can say good bye to your weather and your wall.

Ninetales @ Leftovers
Trait: Drought
EVs: 252 SDef / 252 HP / 4 SAtk
Calm Nature
- Hypnosis
- Will-O-Wisp
- Flamethrower
- Roar

Defensive Ninetales makes up the second half of the dual weathers, despite my previous comment of weather-setters as a poor defensive choice. There just wasn't a justifiable reason for me to use Ninetales offensively.

And yes, double status is a real set on Ninetales. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The idea of running Sunny Day on this team never even came through my mind, since the weather isn't going to be very stable anyways, and I don't fear sand like so many other sun-based teams.

Forretress @ Leftovers
Trait: Sturdy
EVs: 252 Def / 252 HP / 4 Atk
Relaxed Nature
IVs: 0 Spd
- Stealth Rock
- Rapid Spin
- Gyro Ball
- Spikes

A fairly standard Forretress set. I used Volt Switch for a while, but I decided that I really didn't need the move since it wasn't as if Forretress would land any real outspeeds against threats. It's not the greatest wall, but it's role as a spiker and a spinner is reason enough to land him a spot on the team.

Landorus (M) @ Life Orb