1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

First Team

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by Armin, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Armin

Armin

Hey there everyone, I'm new to competitive Pokemon, and I've made a few teams, but none of them seemed to work. I've tried out every tier, and I decided to actually spend more time on the OU tier. I've made a team, and I'd really like some feedback on it. I've been having trouble with certain Pokemon, and I really don't know what is best to keep, and change. Well, here it is:

[​IMG]
    Garchomp @ Choice Band
    Trait: Rough Skin
    EVs: 252 Spd / 252 Atk / 4 Def
    Jolly Nature
    - Outrage
    - Earthquake
    - Fire Fang
    - Dual Chop

The reason why I chose Garchomp was because I needed a Pokemon to start with, and I was considering the other dragon types in the tier, but Garchomp stood out to me the most. Outrage, Earthquake, and Fire Fang are pretty much explanatory but the reason why I chose Dual Chop over Dragon Claw was to be able to break substitutes, and then do some extra damage. I hate substitutes. I'd like to use Garchomp for this team, but I'm open to suggestions for any other dragon.

[​IMG]
    Heatran @ Leftovers
    Trait: Flash Fire
    EVs: 252 HP / 244 SDef / 12 Spd
    Calm Nature
    - Lava Plume
    - Protect
    - Stealth Rock
    - Toxic

Oh boy, Heatran. I chose him cause he provides great coverage from certain types, and he's also really bulky. I gave him Lava Plume for some damage type, Protect for stalling/scouting, Rocks for hazards, and Toxic because I like toxic more than t-wave. Overall, great guy. He also deserves Toxic because I had Roar on him before but it felt easier giving Roar to Vaporeon. I just need to be more careful with ground moves.

[​IMG]
    Latios @ Choice Scarf
    Trait: Levitate