Gallade (Bulk Up)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Taking all criticism, good or bad. This is my first try at getting a set "Smogon approved," so I need all the help I can get.

[SET]
name: Bulk Up
move 1: Bulk Up
move 2: Drain Punch
move 3: Psycho Cut
move 4: Shadow Sneak / Leaf Blade / Fire Punch
evs: 252 HP / 60 Atk / 20 Def / 176 SpD
nature: Adamant / Careful
ability: Steadfast
item: Leftovers

[SET COMMENTS]
<p>This set is unlike others, and takes on more of a stalling approach. It can also take Priority moves much easier than it's other sets. When you switch into Gallade, you want to force a switch, making the opponent think you are using an offensive set. Bulk Up should be used in this free turn. Then get in at least one more Bulk Up, boosting defense up to 342 and attack up to 662. Now, you'll want to sort of start sweeping.</p>

<p>The first move is self-explanatory; Bulk Up is used to raise attack and defense. Drain Punch is the real life and blood of this set, as the only real option for recovery, and Psycho Cut for a great STAB move. The last move is dependent on what the rest of your team needs. Shadow Sneak is to priority kill ghosts, mainly, Gengar and rotom forms, who are common switch ins. Leaf Blade is to get rid of Swampert, Hippowdon, and bulky waters. Fire Punch is mainly for Scizor and Forretress who easily cause problems for this set otherwise.</p>

<p>You want to have decent SpD EVs on this set, since you have no way of boosting that. The 252 HP is for defensive purposes, the defense EVs are for a bit extra bulk, and the attack is for a bit more power.</p>

<p>This set works well with Entry Hazards, because for people who don't have a good counter will usually keep switching around. Because this is a defensive set, you lose the ability to handle defensive walls as efficiently, so be prepared to have a good Skarmory or Togekiss counter. </p>