1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Please refer to this thread for the current Smogon Tier Lists.
  3. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Game On! TheMantyke's GTGamefest Tournament Hosting Report

Discussion in 'VGC' started by TheMantyke, Apr 21, 2014.

1. TheMantyke

TheMantyke ᴵ ᶰᵉᵉᵈ ᵃ ᵐᵒᶰˢᵗᵉʳ ᵗᵒ ᶜᶫᵒᵇᵇᵉʳ ᵗʰᵃᵗ ᵗʰᵉʳᵉ ᴷᶦʳᵇʸ
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Team Rater Alumnus
    VGC Leader

Hey guys! I hosted a grassroots VGC tournament and I thought I'd give you a small, casual warstory report style post of how things went down. This is my first time ever hosting a tournament, but I had an absolute blast and wanted to share the experiance to encourage you all to check out your own local tourneys!

Pre-Tournament
    [​IMG]

So, what the hell is GT Gamefest anyway? GT Gamefest is a reasonably sized grass roots tournament that Georgia Tech students host every semester to play a bunch of games both competitively and just for free play for one last hoorah right before dead week. Big games at the tournament include big players like LOL, DOTA2, Starcraft, Smash, and Halo. The whole thing is free if you want to just free play, but you can also pay $15 bucks and get access to all tournaments, a t-shirt, and nearly as much pizza and soda as Monster and Dominoes can throw at us. Prior to this semester, I had actually only participated in the tournament once back in 2011 for smash, but remember it being a pretty great time.