hate you nattorei... long standard OU warstory

hello, i'm komoku and i'm fairly new to competitive battling. i battled in mid-gen 4 and stopped soon after sala was banned. started back up when 5th gen came out, so now you know my experience level.

this battle took place on smogon's PO server. i finally decided to stop being stubborn and register my name (previously i got to 1187 on the ladder but lost them due to my name not being registered). and wouldn't you know my first battle turns out to be a very tough one that i could've lost at any moment.

when the battle begins, i don't notice my opponent's name(i tend to do this frequently) and through the ENTIRE battle i don't focus on the name of my opponent so i will remove his name throughout the logs until the end so you can really get into my thoughts as i played this battle.

my team:

my opponent's team(i give this to you now because wifi clause basically spoils the surprise and so i knew his team going in):

Battle between komoku and ANON started!

Tier: Standard OU
Variation: +68, -31
Rule: Rated
Rule: Sleep Clause
Rule: Freeze Clause
Rule: Species Clause
Rule: Wifi Battle

ANON sent out Heatran!
komoku sent out DARKRAI! (Darkrai)

100 %
vs
100%

ok first thoughts of my team must be "latios, chomp, rai, and skymin... uber n00b". and i'll give you that arguement, but the reason why is because i'm sick of getting defeated against them, so i'm gonna use the weapon of my enemy. Anyway, due to the wifi rule in effect, he saw my team and saw skymin in the lead position, so i assume he sends out tran for that reason. I send out darkrai because i saw gliscor on his team, so i thought he might try to send out gliscor in the off chance i decided to start with skarmory to try and taunt me. since rai's speed is so awesome, i immediately go for dark void knowing there is no roobushin waiting for me afterwards.

Start of turn 1
The foe's Heatran used Overheat!
DARKRAI lost 282 HP! (100% of its health)