1. GET SMOGON SHIRTS HERE! First time ever. Limited time only & next time the design will be different, so get it while you can!
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

I'm new to this

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by TrueSoprano, May 25, 2012.

1. TrueSoprano

TrueSoprano

I'm pretty new to competitive battling, and this is my first team. There are obviously some flaws here, and some help would be awesome.

[​IMG]
    Forretress
    Relaxed, sturdy, 252hp/4d/252spd, Shed shell
    Toxic Spikes
    Rapid Spin
    Gyro Ball
    Earthquake

Not much to explain here. This is my lead. Should I keep both attacks, or should I add spikes? I might remove earthquake, since it's so slow and it can't take a fire attack.

[​IMG]
    Vaporeon
    Bold, water absorb, 248hp/252d/8spe, leftovers
    Wish
    Protect
    Scald
    Roar

Good at stalling, especially with double toxic spikes. Roar works well if I manage to set up entry hazards. Wish + Protect + Leftovers is great for healing, and scald has a decent chance of burning.

[​IMG]
    Heatran
    Modest, Flash Fire, 252spa/4spd/252spe, air balloon
    Flamethrower
    Earth Power
    Hidden Power Ice
    Stealth Rock

Heatran works well with Vaporeon because it resists grass attacks, and Vaporeon can also switch in on water types attacking it.

[​IMG]
    Machamp
    Adamant, no guard, 128hp/252a/128spd, leftovers
    Substitute
    DynamicPunch
    Payback
    Stone Edge

I chose Machamp because of No Guard + Dynamic Punch. Stone Edge is also 100% accuracy.

[​IMG]
    Gengar
    Timid, levitate, 4hp/252spa/252spd, leftovers
    Substitute
    Disable
    Shadow Ball
    Focus Blast

Gengar has an awesome SpA and SpE.

[​IMG]
    Dragonite
    Adamant, inner focus, 60hp/252a/196spd, choice band
    Outrage
    ExtremeSpeed
    Fire Punch