Input on Tiers Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so admittedly, I am new to Smogon. Over the past few years, my friends and I have been battling competitively amongst a group of 20 or so people. As time passed by, our teams have become much more intricate, and revolve around deep strategies. I was told by a friend to check out the tiers here when we were trying to decide if we wanted to use the rules used in the official championships, or something different. When looking at the tiers, I became extremely disappointed, however. The tiers do not seem to make any sense to me. Pokemon that can be extraordinarily helpful like Lapras or Ursaring are listed as NU, while Pokemon I would never consider for a team like Flygon and Tentacruel are listed as OU.

I have battled people who are active on this site, and even have shops on here, and I was disappointed by the battle. While they had a team with perfect EVs and IVs, and got their strategy from here, I was able to take them out losing only one Pokemon.

I would like to know what other people think, because the fact that this is so accepted really bothers me.

The tiers are based on usage, and some Pokemon you think "useful" are probably outclassed by others. In the case of Lapras, weakness to Stealth Rock makes it inferior to most bulky waters. Ursaring has massive team slot competition as a physical attacker when Pokemon like Lucario or Infernape are available. Flygon has great STABs and a fast U-Turn. Tentacruel is vital on stall due to countering Infernape, a popular stallbreaker, Rapid Spinning, and Toxic Spiking.

You probably beat the first person because your rating is low at the beginning, so you fought someone also with a low rating.

Fatecrashers

acta est fabula
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Top Artist Alumnusis a Senior Staff Member Alumnusis a Top Contributor Alumnusis a Top Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnus