1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

IV training

Discussion in 'Trou Du Cul' started by CervixalCubby, Jul 8, 2009.

1. CervixalCubby

CervixalCubby

So I am new to IV training but I have a level 1 Snorlax and I used Metalkids calculator to judge its IVs and it said this.

Snorlax - #143 (Modest)
    HP: 0 - 30
    Att: 0 - 30
    Def: 0, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30
    SpA: 0 - 30
    SpD: 0 - 30
    Speed: 0 - 30

Outside of nature is this a good pokemon?
  2. graves

graves

You can't tell at ALL.
    You need to give it rare candy's and put in the stats it gets,
    you have to get way more precise then this. Sorry.
  3. CervixalCubby

CervixalCubby

I only have one rare candy.
    I will just EV train HP which is Bidoof over to 5.
  4. Chinese Dood

Chinese Dood

Yeah, Level 1 stats are basically useless. Also, since you are using MetalKid's Calculator, you should notice that the calculator will tell you what levels you will need for whichever stat to get a more precise IV for each of those stats.

Also, no such thing as IV training.You can't train for IVs. You can only breed for them. Seeing how you have a max of 30 IV only, its characteristic is probably Sturdy Body with possibly 30 in Defense. You should probably try to aim for 31 in a few stats. And, of course, nature is more important than IVs, but probably even if the snorlax you have is male and it turns out to have a few 30s in the right spots (which is not that likely), I wouldn't use it for rebreeding. You can probably do better than that.
  5. urza220

urza220

Definitely a keeper; would make a good specslax.
  6. CervixalCubby

CervixalCubby

Do better IV pokemon breed better IV pokemon?
    I always thought the numbers will be completely random.

I just got new numbers at level 3
    Snorlax - #143 (Modest)
    HP: 0 - 13