1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Just Another Rain Team

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by nanook2264, Aug 14, 2012.

1. nanook2264

nanook2264

Hi everybody, I'm relatively new to competitive battling (and completely new to smogon forums) and wanted to try out a stall rain team. I'm looking forward to your constructive criticism.

[​IMG]

Politoed (M) @ Leftovers
    Trait: Drizzle
    EVs: 252 HP / 196 Def / 60 SDef
    Relaxed Nature (+Def, -Spd)
    - Scald
    - Toxic
    - Perish Song
    - Protect

Usually my starter for lack of a better one, the EV spread gives it balanced balanced defenses. Scald is there for a STAB attack that can burn, while toxic is included for walls and special attackers, and also used on physical attackers if I can't gamble on that 30% burn. Perish song is there to stop baton passers or just boosting sweepers, and protect stalls out a turn for perish song, burn, or toxic.

[​IMG]

Celebi @ Leftovers
    Trait: Natural Cure
    EVs: 252 HP / 220 SDef / 36 Spd
    Calm Nature (+SDef, -Atk)
    - Giga Drain
    - Psychic (psyshock?)
    - Recover
    - Stealth Rock

I replaced my Vaporeon with this Celebi. Giga Drain provides a stab healing, while psychic provides a secondary powerful stab. Recover heals Celebi, and Stealth Rocks was chosen on this set so Ferrothorn could use spikes. I'm thinking about replacing psychic with psyshock, because two moves on the special side seems a little worse than one on each, but I'm not sure. Also, I could put heal bell somewhere on this set, but I would probably have to replace recover, and rely on giga drain and non-existent wish support.

[​IMG]

Quagsire (M) @ Leftovers
    Trait: Unaware
    EVs: 252 HP / 4 Def / 252 SDef
    Careful Nature (+SDef, -SAtk)
    - Curse
    - Recover
    - Earthquake
    - Waterfall