ORAS Doubles OU Mega Gengar, the Forgotten One

Introduction

Hey… people!

I’m fairly new to Smogon, and it had been great… except for that one time that Arcticblast blocked me. (JK) Anyways, I’ve gotten better (in such a short period) by watching KyleCole’s videos, and the ladder isn’t a huge problem for me. Rather, I found it to be misleading as I soon found out that Tournaments (Tours) had much better players. Nevertheless, here is my Mega Gengar balanced team.

(Replays: TBA)

The Team

Gengar-Mega @ Gengarite
Ability: Levitate
EVs: 252 SpA / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Modest Nature
- Shadow Ball
- Sludge Bomb
- Protect
- Giga Drain

Of course, I have Mega Gengar. And I think it is a great Mon, Mega or not. Its pre-Mega ability, Levitate, is great for fooling players, especially when their CS Landorus-T uses Earthquake, and it guarantees one or two turns. On the other hand, I usually use it as a reserve, either as a Shadow Tag user (evil laugh) or a late sweeper. (You can imagine how Weather teams feel as they lose their only weather setter!) Also, I needed an alternative against Water types; Thundurus is a good counter, but I rather have an additional check. Anyways, its Special Attack allows it to hit hard and take a full advantage of Giga Drain. What is there not to like?

Scrafty @ Life Orb
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 SpD
Adamant Nature
- Knock Off
- Drain Punch
- Protect
- Fake Out