1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

Most Generation PRNG Help / Information

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by mingot, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. LightningFusion

    LightningFusion
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Defeat them both and battle the E4, causing them to return to where they are released from. You can then abuse them at their respective locations.
  2. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    Thankies.
  3. Age of Kings

    Age of Kings of the Ash Legion
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,314
    EDIT;; idk if this is useful info for anyone, but Bebe advances the frame by 4 each time she moves
  4. Ampharos64

    Ampharos64

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    That is useful, thanks, I breed Eevee but haven't actually picked up the one from Bebe yet. Should be able to get a good one.

    Although, breeding Gible is driving me crazy at the moment. I calibrated, got a frame of 6 and found a spread. Then I kept getting results with a frame of 5. Not a problem, I thought, there's an even better spread on frame 7, I just have to do one journal flip. Now I'm getting frame 6. >_<
  5. mattj

    mattj blatant Nintendo fanboy

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,690
    I wasted over 100 tries one time while experiencing the same problem you are now. I was shooting for six but kept getting 7s. So I switched to 7 and started getting straight 6s, etc... Just start the game, wait a few seconds and save again to get a new frame. Worked for me.
  6. PokeTroopa

    PokeTroopa

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Hi, Im new here and just started using RNG.

    Everything looks ok when it comes to frames and delays, but my time always seems messed up. Looking at the guides, it should be around 15, but I've been getting results such as 52, 28 35, and 40. Ive been doing everything as fast as possible but these times just dont look right.
  7. mattj

    mattj blatant Nintendo fanboy

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,690
    Are you being extra, extra careful to put the right...
    1)Date
    2)Time (24hr not 12)
    3)Ability
    4)Nature
    5)Characteristic
    6)Stats

    When I accidentally type something wrong or accidentally put in the wrong time even by a minute or two, I've gotten results like that before...
  8. PokeTroopa

    PokeTroopa

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Date seems ok
    Hours seem ok
    Ability doesnt matter since my pokemon only has one ability. If I have to mark something then that could be a problem
    Nature's good
    Characteristics and stats: Im checking by Ivs if that means anything.

    The delays are in the early 600's and the frame has always ended up being 5, but the seconds just goes all over the place.
  9. Destiny100

    Destiny100

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    785
    Quick question. At lake acuity. Does the flips work to find out my delay?
  10. riddlinkid

    riddlinkid

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,467
    If there's hail, no (I can't remember if there is or not). Sweet scent won't work either, you have to use the pokeradar. Of course if there's not hail then you don't have to worry about that.
  11. Inevitable

    Inevitable

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    911
    I really dont know if this is the correct spot to post this but id figure it wouldnt hurt.

    recently i did some tests on catching great marsh pokemon, as nobody has done this before (probably because its damn hard :P) and i figured it would help others if i would post my findings.


    first of all, you will want to stand directly in front of the spot where the person asks you if you want to enter the great marsh, when you do one step it wont count as a step, then after talking and answering "yes" to enter the great marsh, then the game will do 5 steps for you and after that you are in the marsh. these steps dont count as real steps according to the step application so im reasonably sure that they wont mess with the frames.

    then, when you enter you will notice 2 npc's and they move a lot :P this is the reason why great marsh pkm are so hard to abuse (i'd say its impossible to do on a regular cart because its so hard to hit your target frame)

    anyway when you move in the swamp you will likely sink into it. at that point your X or Start will freeze which means you cant go to your bag or anything like that. you'll have to move left and right until you are on top of the swampy patch, at that point your X should work which means you are able to use sweet scent at that point.

    the big problem however is that moving left and right will advance the frame too :P

    so how can we catch great marsh pokemon then?

    well its not THAT hard if you are using save states

    first of all you need a spread with a high frame (+ 500 gives you enough time to stand in the grass and check your frame a few times)
    this is mainly because the npc's advance the frame quickly, in my test I had hit frame 415 after 30 seconds without advancing the frame with journal flips.

    the idea is to save state somewhere before your target frame ( you can use sweet scent to catch a pkm, then check its iv's to see which frame you landed on) then save state if you are before your target frame and then keep loading the save state until you encounter the pokemon you want.


    hope this helps anyone, i highly doubt someone can do this without AR and save states, but it would be really cool if someone is able to do it without it.

    if so let me know :D
  12. RedMoogleXIII

    RedMoogleXIII

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    I have noticed that certain NPCs in Solaceon are more active at different times on the DS

    This here happend whenile I was breeding my Hidden Power ICE Eevee/Jolteon

    The Frame was a real problem as unseen people like to move durring the daylight moving it up to 5 when I needed 4, and they didnt want to move durring evening when i found a spread with a frame of 7 and I kept getting 6 as they didnt want to move then... Was able to eventually find a frame that was 6 durring the evening times thankfully...
  13. mattj

    mattj blatant Nintendo fanboy

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,690
    Hmmmm.... so are you suggesting that it has to do with the time of day? I didn't happen to pay attention to that in my case...
  14. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    A lot of the times on here, I see people who have spreads for like legendaries that I can never get with the programs. Does it depend like if you use the wichu program or not?
  15. LightningFusion

    LightningFusion
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Both program will produce the same results. With Wichu's program, it goes faster and it finds every spread possible regardless of the frame. If you put your frame in RNG reporter to 20000, you would also get every spread, but it would take forever.
  16. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    So I guess certain people (like a possible expert), are willing to go that extra mile I suppose.
  17. LightningFusion

    LightningFusion
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Actually, spreads can be found at higher delays but lower frames. EE is one of the best (the best that I know of) at hitting a higher delay outside your delay range, which is why he is able to find spreads also.
  18. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    So If my usual delay is 602, it's possible to do 630? How would that even work? Would you just hang around on the continue screen until the time comes?
  19. tr4q

    tr4q

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    you can use emloop.
  20. Misdreavus

    Misdreavus

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    The analysis for the lead (Stealth Rock) Azelf recommends a 31/31/31/31/28/31 Naive spread, but the frame on that one is over 10,000. The next best one would be the 30/31/31/31/31/31 Naive spread, right?
  21. JRT

    JRT

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,327
    Ok I've been trying to get a spread for HP Fighting for a Bold nature, and nothing works. I've used these ivs in wichu:

    31/31/30/30/30/30
    30/30/31/30/30/30
    30/31/30/30/30/30

    I've also used random things, but I still get no spread. I have even increased my minimum delays from like 595 to 3000 and nothing.
  22. TEST 101

    TEST 101

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Did you try increasing the delay to make the frame go lower? =o
  23. Misdreavus

    Misdreavus

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    I tried increasing it up into the 700's and 800's and it either stayed about the same or got higher :/.
  24. riddlinkid

    riddlinkid

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,467
    I usually search 595-3000, and you never get a spread over 1000 frames, usually under 300. Of course you have to be good with emloop to do this. I've also found that for me with delays of 2000+ I usually have to add 6 or so to the delay entered into emloop to consistently hit my delay. I don't know why this is, maybe the DS clock is very slightly different from a normal clock, and the difference can only be seen over a longer period of time.
  25. Katsrkool

    Katsrkool

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Hi
    I'm new here and I have a question, will this ever get released for Mac? I'm a Mac user and I don't have a Windows program so I can't use BootCamp currently but I know my SID so I was wondering if it is possible to get this to work on Mac. Thank you!

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)