1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

Most Generation PRNG Help / Information

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by mingot, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. Despotar

    Despotar

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    What was the question about? It's rather hard to understand. Now you hit your other delay? What as the first? Please post more info.
  2. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    My wanted delay was 1277. I hit 1281, yesterday.

    I was asking when I put the 1281 in the other delay for Pikatimer, how would I find my first timer. But Coktal, already told me.
  3. Umbreon91

    Umbreon91

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    New page
  4. Expert Evan

    Expert Evan every battle has a smell!
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,841
    I'm having a certain problem trying to RNG for a shiny latias when saving inside the fan club before exiting to meet Steven then track the latias, and this seems to be consistently happening as follows as I have no other roamers out there:

    I am trying to target the IVs from method 1 frame 387 and here's what's happening:

    perform radio taps followed by elm calls until I reach the letter that corresponds with:

    last elm letter: 379: actual IVs: = frame 389 (over by 2)
    last elm letter: 378: actual IVs: = frame 386 (under by 1)
    last elm letter: 377: actual IVs: = frame 384 (under by 3)

    I don't understand what's causing this to happen as I don't recall having this happen when I did latios a couple of times before. Any suggestions to make this at all possible shall be gratefully appreciated.
  5. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Okay. I am having a problem as of right now. I keep doing the Pikatimer thing and I always seem to keep getting the, 'No elm responses were found' or whatever it says.

    Can someone explain what I might be doing wrong?
  6. Sharpedo1114

    Sharpedo1114

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Quick Question I want To Advance my frame by two does the First page of the journal if it has a caught pokemon on it will it advance the frame ?
  7. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    I think Bearfan should make a new video. He left out a lot of stuff. Like the Roamers part. I don't if he wants you to kill the roamers and then save in front of Suicune or whatever stationary you are after. But if not, then he should mention that, because I been going around in circles trying to figure out what was wrong and finally found the solution.
  8. shady6121

    shady6121

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    In the middle of RNG abusing ivs, does a journal flip that says got a pokemon in a trade count as a journal flip or not?
  9. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Okay, if I my wanted delay is 2248. And I get a delay of 2237. What would I have to do to figure out what I am doing wrong?
  10. graymonkey0

    graymonkey0

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Well first you need to insert/remove a 3rd gen game to hit the even delay you want, right now you are hitting odd ones. Then it's just human error keeping you from your wanted delay
  11. chi-zusaki

    chi-zusaki

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    I'm trying to calibrate right now so I can RNG later and my results are as follows:
    Reset__Seconds__Delay
    No.1___52_______637
    No.2___54_______638
    No.3___53_______632

    This is on Diamond and I was wondering what this means.
  12. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Lol. Yeah. I found out the answer earlier. I just really didn't want to double post.

    Anywho, yeah, Coktal said it was a odd delay and no I don't have a 3rd gen game. xD
  13. CPrime

    CPrime

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Shurokun, since it's a higher delay, as the first timer hits 0, reset like normal. Then, when you're waiting on the continue screen, if you scroll down to where it shifts to the bottom 3 options, then go back up to Continue, it will add 1 to your delay.
  14. Shurokun

    Shurokun

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Well Coktal already said to change the year to get it to a odd wanted delay, which I did. So should I still do what you said?

    So far, I reached 2257. 10 delays above the delay I want.
  15. CPrime

    CPrime

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    From there, it's just a matter of getting better at timing until you hit the delay you want. The first time I RNGed, it took me probably 20 tries, but now I can hit my wanted delay in usually 1-3 tries.
  16. Human

    Human

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Looking for Confirmation for something I think I read here:
    On HGSS if you go down and back up on the Continue screen does that change your delay by one and make you get an Even Delay instead of an Odd Delay?
  17. CPrime

    CPrime

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Yep, I just posted that right up there. I can also confirm that it works; I usually only hit odd delays but I used even delays for Groudon, Latios, and a couple others.
  18. Wildfire

    Wildfire

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    How do I get the nature, ability, gender that I want in heartgold (breeding) without making a shiny. I don't want to soft reset either.
  19. Human

    Human

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Thanks! Wanted to double check make sure this was confirmed. RNG'ing something which has an even delay and I have a DSi.


    Same thing you normally do except with putting in a random ID/SID. Or you can get in game, find the seed and check if you have one easily obtainable.
  20. Wildfire

    Wildfire

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Ok thanks Human.
  21. pokefreak12

    pokefreak12

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    I have a problem, I am trying to RNG a Charmander, but I noticed that the target frame I'm hitting is 31, but the target frame I need is 32, how does this happen? I forgot to tell you that my save frame is 6.
    EDIT: Does a traded pokemon with a caught pokemon advance the frame by 1 more?
  22. jones115

    jones115

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Ok so when calibrating how do get the same sec value everytime you start your game.
    and I have a action replay too,would be the cause of it
  23. Misdreavus

    Misdreavus

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Well, the left-most NPC in Oak's Lab seems to turn a lot, so this could be your problem. If you're repeatedly hitting frame 31 when you want frame 32, then I'd just advance the frame an extra time the next time you hit your seed.

    Sorry, but I don't really understand what you're trying to say here.

    EDIT: Holy crap, we're almost on page 1000!
  24. pokefreak12

    pokefreak12

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    I'm RNG'ing on Pokemon Platinum and I mean if there is a pokemon that has been caught and one that has been traded, does that advance my frame by 2?
  25. Misdreavus

    Misdreavus

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Well, you're supposed to synchronize your DS clock with an external clock, such as the one on a computer, and the instant the clock rolls over to a new minute, you soft-reset, then mash the A button as fast as possible to get through the opening ASAP. If you do this every time during your calibration phase, you SHOULD (but not definitely) get the same seconds value every time.

    Oh, I thought you were referring to RNGing for Charmander in Oak's Lab in HG/SS. If you're referring to random Pokémon in your party when using the Happiness Checker app, then no, the origin of the Pokémon does not make a difference. If you're referring to the Pokémon you put in the Daycare, the only thing that makes a difference is if the two Pokémon are from different language games. If that's the case, you need to use the "International" method in RNG Reporter.

    EDIT: FIRST POST ON PAGE 1000!!!

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)