1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

New to competitive Pokemon

Discussion in 'VGC' started by Mack10K, Nov 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mack10K

Mack10K

First I would like to say hello and introduce myself. My name is Mack, and I am currently interested in entering the world of competitive Pokemon. I have played every single Pokemon game (not the spin offs) and am currently playing through White 2. Pokemon has always been a huge part of my life, and I played my very first game (Blue) at the age of 14. I have been happy to see the game grow into many different generations. Besides Pokemon I enjoy playing the guitar, reading, writing, and drawing.

That being said, off to the topic of my thread. I am new to this, I have downloaded Pokemon Online and messed around with it a little bit. I know how to build a team (with online, not really a competitive team) and have done a few battles. So looking around I have noticed an overwhelming amount of information, and it seems a bit daunting to soak in. I know three things I want to accomplish:

1. Learning the meta game. What is the best way to do this? I thought it would be by copying a good team from some one and using it. Otherwise suggestions?

2. Play the VGC format. I want to do official Nintendo rules and ect. Plus double battles are fun. :)

3. Have the most annoying team I possibly can. I want my opponents to pull their hair out. I don't necessarily want the best team, I want an annoying team to push people off balance.

I know just getting into this won't make me good enough for this VGC, but I do want to get ready for the next one. So if people could guide me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
  2. Otterz

Otterz