1. GET SMOGON SHIRTS HERE! First time ever. Limited time only & next time the design will be different, so get it while you can!
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Nidoking Needs a Throne

Discussion in 'BW Other Teams' started by Ramza Beoulve, Apr 5, 2012.

1. Ramza Beoulve

Ramza Beoulve

Long Winded Introduction (open)
    I started playing Pokemon back in Gen 4, and I joined right at the tail end of it. To be specific, it was right around the time that Salamence got sent up to Uber heaven. I decided to dive in head-first and try to figure out the metagame for myself. To make what is an unnecessarily long story short, I got my ass kicked. Over, and over, and over, and over again. I tried out all of the gimmicks. I sorted the tier lists by HP, ATK, SpD, etc, and tried to do the traditional "cover all of my weaknesses" strategy. After losing several hundred matches, I started to learn a thing or two about putting teams together and eliminating threats.

Then, Gen 5 was announced, and I was beyond excited to be one of many who had access to the metagame at it's inception. I got to participate in all of the tier shifting, all of the ability banning, and the hilarious regrouping of certain Pokemon (Electivire used to be OU .. haha). It was a very weird beginning, especially with the introduction of Dream World abilities. So, I honestly anticipated a very diverse OU with several strategies and generally long battles.

Fast-forward to about a month ago, where I decided to leave OU for good. Honestly, the OU metagame got so stale, so fast, that I had grown bored of it altogether. I didn't want to play Weather Wars, and I also didn't want to play the VoltTurn game. Diversifying away from that proved very difficult, and overall, very stressful.