1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

OU Sandstorm Team for Local Tournament

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by sha, Nov 17, 2012.

1. sha

sha

Introduction:

I'm preparing a sandstorm team for a local tournament; after trying a voltturn team ( not satisfied ) i've decided to try something different.

I've played a lot of random match-ups on the ds, but this is something i've never done before, that's why i need your help.

The rules at the tournament are very similar to random match-up:
    - no ubers also no genesect, keldeo, celebi, mew,...
    - item clause
    - species clause
    - team preview and picking 3 pokes.

Team preview:

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Team Detail:

[​IMG]
    Tyranitar @ Leftovers
    Sandstream - Sassy
    252 HP / 64 Sp Atk / 192 Sp Def
    - Stealth Rock
    - Crunch
    - Fire Blast
    - Ice Beam

I've chosen Tyranitar as my weather inducer over Hippowdon for more coverage moves.
    It's a mixed set that can take a punch; special defense based setup.
    Stealth Rock is obvious, bot sandstorm inducers have them and when used give the other teammates the well deserved ko's.
    Crunch is STAB and is used versus those pesky psychic types.
    Fire Blast is chosen to kill steel types and grass types. Get's really powerfull when losing weather wars in the sun and to take hit at venusaur.
    But that's not the only reason, Breloom and Scizor get OHKO'd and those are very common.
    Ice Beam i'm not sure about, it hits many pokemon hard, but mostly i'm dead before i can use it.

[​IMG]
    Landorus-I @ Choice Scarf
    Sand Force - Naive
    252 Atk / 4 Sp Atk / 252 Speed
    - Earthquake
    - Stone Edge
    - U-turn
    - Hidden Power Ice

Landorus is the main reason why i've chosen to play sandstorm.