Player of the Week 29: mad0ka

GOAO

Banned deucer.

Favorite Pokemon: Drifloon
Most Used Pokemon: Mienfoo
Most Known For: Sun queen, winner of two circuit tours.
Tell us a little about yourself.
Hey guys, if you don't know me yet, I'm known around the smogon community for general success in LC. At first, I was known around the LC community as a ladder hero, accumulating something like ~3,000 LC battles on my first account queenlucy. Throughout most of those battles I mostly used sun, eventually so much that I revamped the playstyle in XY and became known as the "sun queen". Now, I've won several ORAS LC subforum tours, and ranked well in many others, as well as going for 8k this SPL! Outside of smogon dot com, I'm currently a first year uni student studying Chinese and chemistry. I really like learning, to the point of school probably being my hobby besides just mons. If I could, I would get degrees in mathematics, environmental science, Korean, Japanese, and Biology in addition to my current ones, but I have neither the time nor money to be in college for 10 years. I also am involved in my school's music department; I sing and play the French Horn. Basically, I'm overall a big school nerd.

How and when did you get your start in LC? Do you remember your first team?
I first got into LC during the Murkrow and Meditite test, so around March of 2014, on the username queenlucy. I had been on showdown before, but I never stuck around and established myself in a community. I don't remember much of my first team, I just remember talking about it a lot in the LC chat room and there being a resttalk chou and doug murkrow (subthief berryjuice with t-wave).

What is your favorite aspect of LC?
I really like how flexible you can be in teambuilding, at least for the most part (fu*k trappers!). All but full stall are viable archetypes, and within team archetypes, there are many variations. Basically, tons of things are viable and it's fun to play around with stuff.