1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Problem Starting Pokemon Lab

Discussion in 'Shoddy Battle and Pokémon Lab' started by UncleSam, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,780
    First off, my sincere apologies if this has been reported already or if I am just too retarded to figure out how to load Pokemon Lab.

    Firstly, I have a Mac OSX version 10.4.11. This was all done using the browser FireFox.

    Anyway, when I go to the stickied thread and hit "Client Download Link", I get my usual downloads popup, at which point I hit either "Open with Java Web Start" or "Save". I have tried both options; neither work. In any case, then Shoddy opens up like normal, except it says "Loading Pokemon Lab", with all the usual info and such, and then a popup screen saying "Trust certification" or something like that, and I hit "Trust". Then, however, whereas normally for Shoddy I go straight to the server list, I merely get a popup window titled "Java Web Start-Unexpected Error", with the only text below it being "Unable to launch Pokemon Lab". Below this are two options: "OK" and "details". I have tried hitting "OK" but obviously the program just quit, so I tried hitting "Details" and got this:
    Under "General":
    An error occurred while launching/running the application.

    Title: Pokemon Lab
    Vendor: Catherine Fitzpatrick and Benjamin Gwin
    Category: Unexpected Error

    Unexpected exception: java.lang.Exception

    Under "Launch File":
    A bigass program that I can't C/P but I will copy over if I really need to.

    Under "Exception":
    A series of four lines, which, again, it would be tedious to copy over, but I will do so if necessary. It starts with "java.lang.exception".

    Again, I couldn't C/P these bits so sorry if I copied them over slightly incorrectly/didn't copy over what was needed to figure out my problem. My thinking right now is that it is some type of firewall problem since I have had problems with my network in the past, but previously when I had problems with my firewall it would just tell me that the firewall was blocking it and that I needed to open up port something or other, which wasn't the case here. It also says that I have a lang exception of some type, which I figured could mean I need to update Java, but I updated java somewhat recently (like six months ago or so) and I currently have Java version 1.4.2; besides, I didn't see a minimum Java update required in the OP of the thread posted about it (again, sorry if I just can't read correctly).

    My deepest apologies if this is just me being retarded with a computer, or if this was asked before and I missed it and asked it again. It seems like every time someone posts a problem it is something they easily could have fixed on their own with a minimum of thought, and I only hope this isn't the case for me. Sorry if I wasted everyone's time, and thanks for any help I get!
  2. coolking49

    coolking49

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,774
    I have a the same problem on my mac, which is also 10.4.something. So its not just you
  3. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,780
    This would indicate that it is NOT a firewall problem then. Maybe it's a problem with my Java?
  4. cim

    cim happiness is such hard work
    is a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,412
    Just for kicks, I would follow the procedure outlined in one of the stickies to change your version of Java to version 6. No idea how well it will work, but I bet it's a problem with 1.4.
  5. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,780
    Sadly it appears that Java version 6 is not compatible with Mac OS X 10.4.11. I believe the oldest version it is compatible with is roughly 10.6.0; I'm not sure on that but either way it isn't compatible with 10.4.11. So is Java 6 required then? Seems odd because it specifically says version 1.4 should work. Thanks for the suggestion though.
  6. Acklow

    Acklow

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,392
    My Poke Lab works, however, right now it has been saying,
    "Connection Refused".
  7. MikesPetUnicorn

    MikesPetUnicorn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Server is offline. Just wait a little longer and it should be back on.
  8. Traj

    Traj

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    you're not alone.

    yeah i've been dealing with the same issue... it just can't be worked around on Tiger... Apple only keeps updating Java for Snow Leopard/Leopard. yeah so the best you can do is complain to Apple about how they're limiting your Pokemon-playing time... :(
  9. Firestorm

    Firestorm I did my best, I have no regrets!
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,304
  10. coolking49

    coolking49

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,774
    I'm on my mac now and I just checked. Its 10.5.8, but it still is happening with mine.
  11. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    You need to install at least Java 1.5 and set it as your default Java installation.

    If your version of OS X is too old (I don't know how old) then Apple will not allow you to install Java 1.5 without paying for a new version of OS X. I personally think this is dumb, but there's nothing I can do about it, so you'll have to forward your complaints to Steve Jobs.
  12. floweberry

    floweberry

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    this definitely means I can no longer play shoddy...I don't want to play with those pokeexperto losers, it's way to easy.
    this blows. alas, goodbye for now my pokemon brethren I will be back when I can afford a better mac I suppose...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)