1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Problem Starting Pokemon Lab

Discussion in 'Shoddy Battle and Pokémon Lab' started by UncleSam, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,982
    First off, my sincere apologies if this has been reported already or if I am just too retarded to figure out how to load Pokemon Lab.

    Firstly, I have a Mac OSX version 10.4.11. This was all done using the browser FireFox.

    Anyway, when I go to the stickied thread and hit "Client Download Link", I get my usual downloads popup, at which point I hit either "Open with Java Web Start" or "Save". I have tried both options; neither work. In any case, then Shoddy opens up like normal, except it says "Loading Pokemon Lab", with all the usual info and such, and then a popup screen saying "Trust certification" or something like that, and I hit "Trust". Then, however, whereas normally for Shoddy I go straight to the server list, I merely get a popup window titled "Java Web Start-Unexpected Error", with the only text below it being "Unable to launch Pokemon Lab". Below this are two options: "OK" and "details". I have tried hitting "OK" but obviously the program just quit, so I tried hitting "Details" and got this:
    Under "General":
    An error occurred while launching/running the application.

    Title: Pokemon Lab
    Vendor: Catherine Fitzpatrick and Benjamin Gwin
    Category: Unexpected Error

    Unexpected exception: java.lang.Exception

    Under "Launch File":
    A bigass program that I can't C/P but I will copy over if I really need to.

    Under "Exception":
    A series of four lines, which, again, it would be tedious to copy over, but I will do so if necessary. It starts with "java.lang.exception".

    Again, I couldn't C/P these bits so sorry if I copied them over slightly incorrectly/didn't copy over what was needed to figure out my problem. My thinking right now is that it is some type of firewall problem since I have had problems with my network in the past, but previously when I had problems with my firewall it would just tell me that the firewall was blocking it and that I needed to open up port something or other, which wasn't the case here. It also says that I have a lang exception of some type, which I figured could mean I need to update Java, but I updated java somewhat recently (like six months ago or so) and I currently have Java version 1.4.2; besides, I didn't see a minimum Java update required in the OP of the thread posted about it (again, sorry if I just can't read correctly).

    My deepest apologies if this is just me being retarded with a computer, or if this was asked before and I missed it and asked it again. It seems like every time someone posts a problem it is something they easily could have fixed on their own with a minimum of thought, and I only hope this isn't the case for me. Sorry if I wasted everyone's time, and thanks for any help I get!
  2. coolking49

    coolking49

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883
    I have a the same problem on my mac, which is also 10.4.something. So its not just you
  3. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,982
    This would indicate that it is NOT a firewall problem then. Maybe it's a problem with my Java?
  4. cim

    cim happiness is such hard work
    is a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,412
    Just for kicks, I would follow the procedure outlined in one of the stickies to change your version of Java to version 6. No idea how well it will work, but I bet it's a problem with 1.4.
  5. UncleSam

    UncleSam

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,982
    Sadly it appears that Java version 6 is not compatible with Mac OS X 10.4.11. I believe the oldest version it is compatible with is roughly 10.6.0; I'm not sure on that but either way it isn't compatible with 10.4.11. So is Java 6 required then? Seems odd because it specifically says version 1.4 should work. Thanks for the suggestion though.
  6. Acklow

    Acklow http://420.moe/

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,680
    My Poke Lab works, however, right now it has been saying,
    "Connection Refused".
  7. MikesPetUnicorn

    MikesPetUnicorn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Server is offline. Just wait a little longer and it should be back on.
  8. Traj

    Traj

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    you're not alone.

    yeah i've been dealing with the same issue... it just can't be worked around on Tiger... Apple only keeps updating Java for Snow Leopard/Leopard. yeah so the best you can do is complain to Apple about how they're limiting your Pokemon-playing time... :(
  9. Firestorm

    Firestorm I did my best, I have no regrets!
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon Social Media Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
  10. coolking49

    coolking49

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883
    I'm on my mac now and I just checked. Its 10.5.8, but it still is happening with mine.
  11. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    You need to install at least Java 1.5 and set it as your default Java installation.

    If your version of OS X is too old (I don't know how old) then Apple will not allow you to install Java 1.5 without paying for a new version of OS X. I personally think this is dumb, but there's nothing I can do about it, so you'll have to forward your complaints to Steve Jobs.
  12. floweberry

    floweberry

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    this definitely means I can no longer play shoddy...I don't want to play with those pokeexperto losers, it's way to easy.
    this blows. alas, goodbye for now my pokemon brethren I will be back when I can afford a better mac I suppose...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)