1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Click here to ensure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!

Question about team eligibility for Rated BS vs. VGC

Discussion in 'Battle Spot' started by Fr0stWo1f, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. Fr0stWo1f


    Mar 23, 2014
    Okay so I know you can only use Pokémon from the 3 Kalos Pokedexes for VGC tournaments and what-not but does this apply to regular old rated Battlespot?
    Like if I were to use something like Ambipom or Clefable who are in the National Dex but not any of the Kalos would it not allow me to enter battle?
    Trying to figure this out before I actually start training my team in the game but I can't seem to find a straight answer anywhere...
    Thanks in advance!
  2. Kashinn


    Jan 3, 2010
    For this season's Special Flat Doubles format you cannot enter with something like Swampert or Hitmontop. This can be easily checked by selecting the "Choose a Pokemon" option on the PGL Ratings page and looking through the list of Pokemon that were used. For regular ranked Flat Doubles anything can be entered except for the few things that are banned by the Flat rules.

    The regulations for each season's Special rating battles can be found on the PGL site. Here you can find the list of Pokemon permitted in this season's Special Flat Doubles http://3ds.pokemon-gl.com/battle/3/regulation/
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
  3. cant say

    cant say yung goose
    is a member of the Site Staffis an official Team Rateris a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Global Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Battle Spot Leader

    Sep 12, 2012
    you can use anything from the national dex in the regular rated mode, special season rules vary but they are normally limited kalos natives, same with vgc...
  4. Level 51

    Level 51 google sheets is my spirit animal
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Server Moderator

    Dec 16, 2011
    technically, the standard rated banlist is all legendaries with bst >= 600 except for landorus and landorus-t.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)