1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Really Strange Problem Running Pokelab

Discussion in 'Shoddy Battle and Pokémon Lab' started by LoveXHaku, Oct 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoveXHaku

    LoveXHaku

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    [​IMG]

    Everytime I select my server (note which has 0/500) and click connect, this window comes up.
    This has been happening since the day pokelab came out (meaning I havnt been able to access this awesome game once despite trying 2-3 times a day) so it isnt due to maintenance.
    Can someone please help? :(

    Oh and I do have latest version of java
  2. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Obviously, since the program seems to be running smoothly, Java is not the problem. Maybe, you have restrictions on your computer or internet/router with connecting to the server? Did you decline Java's permission to access the internet, maybe?

    Check Java's permissions in the control panel (don't know where!), and make sure it can access the internet.
  3. cim

    cim happiness is such hard work
    is a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,412
    You can't connect to the Smogon Poke Lab server for whatever reason. Check your firewall and see if you have Poke Lab or Java blocked. That's a common generalish problem.
  4. Nbz

    Nbz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    I have the exact same problem dude, I think its something to do with my Uni internet, they are blocking ports or something. If you have any breakthroughs let me know.
  5. cim

    cim happiness is such hard work
    is a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,412
    The only case of it being a Uni internet problem is at one school I went to. They literally blocked every port except for port 80. At any reasonable school you should be fine.
  6. Nbz

    Nbz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    I have a feeling that they have blocked most of my ports, and I dunno if there is any way round it. I cannot get access to the router for obvious reasons, so i don't really know how to handle it.
  7. Rufinito

    Rufinito

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Pretty sure it's a server problem. I was on it yesterday, with no problems, and today I have this same error.

    ;o
  8. LoveXHaku

    LoveXHaku

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    rufi i said this was happening since the day the beta came out, oh and yes i am in uni and staying in uni dorms, is that the reason? if it is, is ther anyway of playing it on the uni connection?
  9. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    The only thing you can do is use a SOCKS proxy running on some port that they don't block. However, we won't be helping you with this because it both (a) evades your university's usage policies and (b) can be used to evade bans on the server, neither of which is really appropriate for further discussion on this forum.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)