RNG vs no RNG

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been prepping for VGC for a few months now. Soft reseting and breeding 31's into the IVs i know i'll need on certain pokemon. Playing against plenty of people and even winning my fair share of matches. I've never been the biggest fan of RNGing because i personally see it as cheating (not that is) So i'd just like to ask how many people use the RNG for IV's and how do you personally feel someone who isn't using it will do in the tournament?

It's a competition. If you want to be competitive you should be willing to do everything you can(within the rules of the tournament) you can to be succesful. I don't think IV's will make a huge difference in the first few rounds but Im pretty sure ounce you get to the more experienced battlers who do RnG, you will be at a definate disadvantage.

Im going to be competing in the dallas regionals. Which is in a little more then two weeks do you even think there's time to learn and remake a team of 4?

I wouldn't say there is time. With any team you need to practice and refine your team. There might be time to rng the pokemon if you really tried to, but it might not leave you with enough time to test your team. For me, it takes a while to plan, and perfect a team. If you added rnging then it might not be enough time. You could of course try and if you think there is not enough time then you could use the rng'd pokemon that you have and breed the rest. It also depends on how much you play.

My brother and I didn't rng, got our pokes through soft resetting, and were able to get ready in time for the tourney, so even if you're picky, if you play regularly you should be fine.

As for how well you do, I think its far more important that you know what you'll want to do in certain situations. Basically, skill and prediction are going to be much more important than having perfect IV's all around, in my opinion.

We were able to do well as such

Firestorm