1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Running a PO Server [Updated]

Discussion in 'Pokemon Online' started by XCookie, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. XCookie

    XCookie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    [​IMG] Running a Pokemon Online Server:[​IMG]
    (Made by XCookie)

    This is a guide on how to make your own PO Server.
    I know their is already one by Steve, but this is more informational.
    And way updated.

    Does it cost money to host a PO Server?:

    No, it is 100% free. From the Server.exe download to the WinRAR download. Pokemon Online Servers are free. So don't worry if you say "oh-no i want a server but i have to pay?", because it's free. I host a Server so I know it doesn't cost money. After you have read that, please don't post in this thread if the Server cost money. Thanks.


    Getting Resources:

    Newest Server Download: http://pokemon-online.eu/downloads/Server_18.html

    Go ahead and click on "Server Binaries - 1.0.30 patch 1 (Windows)

    After you download this, go onto Google or Bing and search "WinRAR Download Free". Go ahead and download that. Don't worry, it's 100% free.

    Opening your Server:

    Once you have download WinRAR and the Server, use WinRAR to Extract "pokeymon-server" to your folder. (Your Choice) Then open it, the extracted one, and inside you will see someone called "Server.exe". Open that up by double clicking on it.

    Here is a screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    Now a Server Window should pop up after a few seconds, which will allow you to host your Server. The default port is "5080" but can be changed in options. Now you can set your Server Name, Main Channel Name, and other extra stuff for your Server.

    Go to Options and Config.


    Here is a screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    After that, go on Pokemon Online and click on "Go Online", then find your Server Name. Double click on your Server Name and see if you can enter it. If you cannot, Use the adv. connect box and type "127.0.0.1." to enter your Server, but only you can enter. If you want other people to join your Server, then you must port forward to allow people to connect fully.

    How to get my IP Address?:

    Click "Start" and click "run" and type in "cmd". Now a black box should appear. Type "ipconfig" or/and "ipconfig/all". Find where is says "IP Address" and look at the LAST number in the row. Write it down or remember it good, you will use it later.
    Here is a screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    You must now Port Forward.
    How do I port forward?:

    Go onto this sight: http://www.portforward.com

    Find your router on the Router List, and get your IP Address that you saved somewhere. Log in, if you have set no password just hit "Enter". Then where you are there in Virtual Servers, type in the 1st Box "PO Server". In the second box type your port. (Default "5080") you can change it to what you want as your Server Port. And in the third Box type "Both" (or click it, some are different), and in theLast Box type that LAST number in your IP Address that you have saved somewhere. And click "Save" (or "Enter") and wait for it to save. For me, after it's done saving, my Internet Crashes. I don't know why but just exit out of everything and open the Internet again. It should work fine. It will not mess up your Internet. For me it only disconnects me from PO Servers, and Internet stuff, not Mess up me Internet. I would show a Screen Shot, but people have different routers, not just 1. Sorry!

    After this your IP Address and Port (Default "5080") should be port forwarded.

    Starting my Server up the right way.

    Now open up your extracted Server.exe file where you placed it. Now go onto the Server List again and double click on your Server Name. (Whatever it's called) And you and your friends should be able to enter it.
    Here is another screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    Note: You may Kick, Silent Kick, and Ban from the Server Window. Also you may chat from the Server Window if you wish.
    It will show to everyone like this, btw:

    (TIME) ~~Server~~: What you said would be here.


    Your Server Scripts:

    To have /Commands and all the other fun stuff you need Server Scripts.
    You have a lot of choices to chose from. Here is the basic Pokemon Online Scripts from their Webite:

    http://pokemon-online.eu/none/Scripts_21.html

    Copy and paste the Server Script.

    But if you want a more advanced Server Script with more Commands you should use the Current Pokemon Online Server Scripts:

    http://pokemon-online.eu/scripts.js

    Also here is Lutra's Server Script, with some color if you are a Color Person:

    http://atq.zapto.org/serverscript.txt

    And if you wish to learn how to Script his is a very helpful guide:

    http://pokemon-online.eu/forums/showthread.php?1708-Script-functions-documentation


    Now if you need any extra help, PM me on the PBC Forums or post in the Pokemon Online [help] thread:

    http://pokemon-online.eu/forums/forumdisplay.php?16-Help

    Credits:

    *All the images were screenshot by me with GIMP 2 and written by Cookie. (Me)

    *Help from Athena for helping me find the IP Address in cmd box.

    *Steve has a Server Tutorial to, but his is outdated so I though I would make a updated one. Here is Steve's [Outdated] Tutorial:

    http://pokemon-online.eu/forums/showthread.php?23-Tutorial-on-how-to-run-a-server

    ***Post "[HELPED]" if this helped you create your PO Server***


    Please comment if you need any other, extra help.
  2. Princess Bubblegum

    Princess Bubblegum

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,987
    This may seem like a silly question, but quickly scanning through it doesn't seem to answer it, so I apologize if I missed it.

    Do you need to own or rent server space to run a pokemon online server? I would love to start one up for one of the sites I am on, but I am under age and without resources.
  3. Lady Salamence

    Lady Salamence is a three-dimensional retard.
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,850
    Please note that while it is free to host a PO server, you still have to pay to host a server with your internet provider. For example, Comcast (iirc) requires you to pay more money to host a server than not.
  4. XCookie

    XCookie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    No. ok i know this. you dont have to pay for a PO Server. no extra bill.
  5. Lady Salamence

    Lady Salamence is a three-dimensional retard.
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,850
    Show me that Comcast has no problem with you hosting a server, while in the contract thingie it says you can't, and you have to pay more.
  6. XCookie

    XCookie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    12

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)