Shoddy Battle 1 Client Update

DougJustDoug

Knows the great enthusiasms
is a Site Content Manageris a Top Artistis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Top CAP Contributoris a Battle Simulator Admin Alumnusis a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnusis a Top Tiering Contributor Alumnusis an Administrator Alumnus
I've been working off-and-on for several months on a bunch of little changes and improvements to the Shoddy Client. It's been a low-priority project for me, since the Shoddy client is really Colin and Bearzly's thing, not mine. But, when I would come across something that I thought could be fixed, I would patch it up in my local client and use it privately. What started as little pet fixes, eventually grew into a fairly significant patch.

I never intended to keep the code for myself, but I also didn't have much time to get the code cleaned up to the point where it could be used by everyone. Over the past several days, I finally decided to get this thing finished and released. Colin and Bearzly helped quite a bit today to get all these changes tested, compiled, and implemented. Thanks for the help guys!

Here is a quick rundown of all the changes I have made in the new release of the Shoddy Battle 1 client:

• The chat window now remembers its position if you scroll it up. It no longer jumps to the bottom every time a new message is posted. Scroll back down to the bottom, if you want the window to "auto-scroll" like it always has.

• The chat will now remember selected text, even if new messages are posted. Previously, it was very difficult to copypaste from a fast-moving mainchat, since the selection was cleared on every new post.

• The user list remembers selections, even when members join/leave. Previously, it could be very hard to get a right-click menu, since the selection cleared every time server users changed.