Simple Damage Comparison

Disclaimer: I'm pretty new to competitive Pokémon, and that includes this forum. If this post should be in any other subforum don't hesitate to tell me.

I've been looking at this site's resources, including the amazing damage simulator and the complete damage formula. I couldn't manage to find an easy-to-read guide to damage calculations for estimation and especially comparison purposes. I studied the formula a bit and here is something I came up with. This is intended mostly for people like me, who currently lack extensive battling experience, and perhaps haven't been properly introduced to the base concepts. I still recommend the damage calculator for accurate responses. If you think this could be useful to other people, don't hesitate to share this. You can find the reasoning in a separate section below.

Damage Comparison
In order to estimate the relative damage of one move used by pokemon A with one move used by pokemon B you want to compare the following numbers. These act like multiplicative constants to the damage dealt by the pokemons. This means that, for example, if option A has a number that is twice the number of option B, then A will deal (roughly) twice the damage of option B.

DAMAGE ESTIMATOR: (Base Power) * (STAB) * (Ability) * (Nature) * (Item) * (Effectiveness) * (Base Stat + 34)

Base Power is the base power of the move you are using.
STAB is 1.5 if you are using a move with the same type as your pokemon.
Ability is a multiplier due to your ability. A few common multipliers would be: Huge Power / Pure Power (x2), Technician (x1.5), Analytic (x1.3), Aerilate (x1.3), Adaptability (effectively x1.33).
Nature is 1.1 if you are using an attack-boosting nature.
Item is a multiplier due to your item. A few common multipliers would be: Choice Band/Specs (x1.5), Life Orb (x1.3), *** Plate (x1.2).
Effectiveness is type effectiveness (x4, x2, x1/2, x1/4, x0).