1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Programming SmogDex Teambuilder

Discussion in 'Technical Projects' started by sandshrewz, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    Woops. Missed out Darminatan when I was removing the brackets. Fixed! Thanks :)
  2. scorpdestroyer

    scorpdestroyer is a pious radio
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,750
    You should also make Pokemon that are meant to be level 1 default to level 1 in the teambuilder. This includes things like Aron, Pineco, FEARgle, and Level 2 Probopass, idk if I missed anything, but these Pokemon do not work unless they're at that level, so you should make the export export the levels too!
  3. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    I've thought about this too but never got to it haha. The hard thing is there's no standard set names for those Pokemon so I'll need to write exceptions or make them Lvl 1 based on their movesets like Endeavour + Sash / Sturdy etc and figure it out from there ~ I'll give it more thought when I have the time haha. Thanks for bringing it up! :)
  4. Kingler12345

    Kingler12345 COOKIE COOKIE COOKIE STARTS WITH C
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362
    Excellent job on this <3 at first, I thought it was the same as building a team from scratch, but then I realized how useful this can be!
  5. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    I've made the export PO friendly. It doesn't export Level and IVs if you're exporting to PO and Hidden Power [Type] instead of Hidden Power Type :)
    Kingler12345 likes this.
  6. Pan.

    Pan.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Maybe a random question, but is there a possibilty in the next future to add a randomizer-function ^__^?

    great work, i love you for that :X
  7. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    I doubt so. This teambuilder is for building teams quickly by using Smogon sets. Idk what a randomizer would be of any good since it doesn't encourage team building ?_?
  8. vyomov

    vyomov

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    847
    This is really nice but one suggestion:
    When you select a set, why not suggest a set of partners in that tier? It makes teambuilding easier(e.g. Celetran) and at the same time makes the teambuilder aware of cores he/she hasn't tried before.
  9. Angelin

    Angelin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Thanks for this app, it helps me in my teams.
  10. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    hmmmmm nahhh. I've thought of getting teammates from the Additional Comments section but it's not feasible currently as it also mentions other random Pokemon. Celetran isn't that good this gen either :s There's the Go to Pokedex button which I'd prefer for people to use if they want to look for teammates in the analysis :) Hard coding teammates probably wouldn't be a good idea because suggested teammates via code can be misleading sometimes :d
  11. Pan.

    Pan.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    I understand that completely, it's just like exploring new pokemon that you wouldn't use normally.

    So like, give me 6 random pokemon from the smogon dex and I will show you that they are kickin' ass :)
  12. DittoCrow

    DittoCrow
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Past SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,476
    Tried to fix it but it's still happening. Porygon2 isn't showing up and it seems there are 2 Porygon instead.
  13. sandshrewz

    sandshrewz
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,432
    Oops lol. I'll edit it via the new scms later... (note that changes for both scms will not appear) and edits for non dex stuff are disabled dc :| I have no idea if editing stuff there would have any undesired consequences. Fsr the text on the dex button isn't appearing on phone. Will look into that. It used to work though :d 3g was being dumb twice lmao !

    edit: fixed via new scms. changes won't take into effect for now though. Thanks dc :)

    edit2: changes are now on-site :)!
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)