Team Report #smogonvgc: A Season Report (VGC 2016)

Introduction

Hi, this is blarajan, @blaramons on twitter. This was my first season playing VGC, and I managed to take 12th place at US Nationals and 25th place at this year’s World Championships. The following is a report of all of my experiences that got me to this point and a reflection on how overbearingly happy involving myself with VGC has made me. It's going to be really long, so bear with me. Skip ahead if you must.

Pokemon History

I’ve been playing Pokemon since 2010, my very first post on Smogon being this gem: http://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/my-first-team-sunny-day.77940/. There’s starting off bad, and then there’s starting off this bad. But I kept at it, solely focusing on singles play. I didn’t start getting “good” until BW2, where I started showing some results, making top 4 and top 8 in the first and second Grand Slam, going 11-0 in SPL, and eventually leading Little Cup on Smogon. Finding Little Cup, learning the tier and getting involved with the community, and being entrusted to lead it were my most rewarding experiences on Smogon and were what I most enjoyed about playing Pokemon.

Fast forward to 2014, and it turns out the World Championships were happening practically in my backyard, Washington D.C. Though I knew nothing about VGC or had any doubles experience, attending Worlds gave me an opportunity to meet with friends from Smogon such as BKC, idiotfrommars and Cased, along with VGC players I had interacted with through SPL like R Inanimate . Maybe a little less than two weeks before, I learned about the LCQ, and decided since I was attending I would participate. I did not have any play points, but I hopped on #nuggetbridge on Smogon and Firestorm told me I could submit a request to play in the LCQ anyways.