1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Technical Support Mk. 2 (READ OP BEFORE POSTING!)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Antar, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Relados

    Relados
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,063
    For me, disabling the antivirus entirely wasn't necessary. I run Avast! too, and was able to get on fine after disabling the Web Shield only.

    For all those who don't know how to do this: To disable your Web Shield (for Avast, that is), open it, go to Real Time Shields on the left, click Web Shield, and hit Stop on the process. This should disable it and allow you to get on with Chrome or whatever browser you're having trouble with.
  2. Zacchaeus

    Zacchaeus
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261
    What the hell is Avast? I don't have a webshield
  3. Janmonkey

    Janmonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    And if we don't run Avast?
  4. blarajan

    blarajan i was born under the same star as shakeitup
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Tiering Contributoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Little Cup Co-Leader

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,700
    google
  5. Zacchaeus

    Zacchaeus
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261
    Most people would be able to figure out that that means "I don't have Avast"

    Disabling my antiviruses does nothing
  6. doublenikesocks

    doublenikesocks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    I have norton and disabled it and still nothing.
  7. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,802
    I'm aware of your issues; I'll try to fix them sometime tonight.
  8. Heroes and Cons

    Heroes and Cons

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Is everyone having the same issue as me, where I load up Showdown, and it gets to "Connecting to Showdown Server..." and just stays there? Coz if you are, I'll wait since you are already aware of the problem... otherwise, WTH is going on? :(
  9. V4Victini

    V4Victini [22:01] <&Stellar> I'm gonna edit ALL the YAML files
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    That is because you are banned from Pokemon Showdown!.
  10. phoopes

    phoopes The Boss
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,046
    I have Norton and didn't need to disable to connect. Maybe there's something else going on here.
  11. Level 51

    Level 51 by far the worst
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Tiering Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Server Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,762
    It... somehow fixed itself. Don't know how, but I'm grateful.
    Thanks if you changed anything :/
  12. Janmonkey

    Janmonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thank you.
  13. bean1706

    bean1706

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Operating system: Windows Vista
    Web Browser: Google Chrome
    Other Browsers?:
    When did this problem start?: A couple of days ago.
    PS username: bean17o6
    Problem: After logging onto PS I am disconnected after a minute. Sometimes even less.
  14. Elvanor

    Elvanor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Fixed

    Thanks for fixing the constant disconnection issue, at least I assume that you fixed it, I don't think it fixed itself :P

    EDIT: Okay, this still doesn't seem to be fixed although I got a good 30 mins of play in before leaving and on reconnection the issue started up again :S
  15. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,802
    Yeah, I fixed the issue. If it was broken before and works now, it was because you have a stupid firewall. :P
  16. Elvanor

    Elvanor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Still happening

    It's a bit random, but sometimes I will log on and be fine, and others I will have the constant disconnect issue, I've tried turning off my firewall, still not helping :S
  17. Superpowerdude

    Superpowerdude "The Phone-Post King"
    is an official Team Rateris a Smogon Media Contributor
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,349
    I am still having that "connect to pokemon showdown...." issue where the server wont even load :(

    Windows 7
    Internet Explorer
    Superpowerdude
  18. Tahu

    Tahu

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    PS! doesn't load on the Wii browser. The page stops loading after it displays the message Connecting to Login Server...
  19. Electrolyte

    Electrolyte I could hear the sirens sound
    is an official Team Rateris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Server Moderator
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,022
    ok, I experienced a tiny glitch here:

    Turn 10
    Tentacruel used Rapid Spin!
    It's not very effective... The foe's Ferrothorn lost 1% of its health!
    Tentacruel is hurt by the foe's Ferrothorn's Iron Barbs!
    Tentacruel fainted!
    The foe's Ferrothorn used Spikes!
    Spikes were scattered all around the feet of your team!
    The foe's Ferrothorn restored HP using its Leftovers!
    electrolyte: wtf
    chemosynthesis: lol what
    electrolyte: why didn't rapid spin take away the SR and spikes???
    electrolyte sent out Giratina-Origin!
    Pointed stones dug into Giratina-Origin!

    If you notice, Tentacruel rapid spun at a Ferrothorn and died; however when Giratina-O came in to revenge kill it took SR damage (and there were spikes too, it just doesn't show). Both the sprite of hazards and the damage from them stayed, even after Rapid Spin.
  20. Relados

    Relados
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,063
    If you die from Iron Barbs or another ability like that, rapid spin does not remove hazards. This also belongs in the Bug Reports thread.
  21. mezomi

    mezomi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    1. Operating system Windows 7
    2. (Web Browser) Firefox
    3. (Other Browsers?) Chrome
    4. (When did this problem start?) Today
    5. (PS username) mezomi
    6. (Problem) Basiclly the same as everyone else. If in start a battle a few turns in it says disconect detected. Then I cant get on at all. If it try again later it repeats what i said.
  22. Tobes

    Tobes Woo-hoo, woo-hoo, woo-hoo-hoo!
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Past WCoP Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,552
    Showdown no longer supports Internet Explorer. Try Google Chrome, Showdown should work for you there.
  23. Manafii101

    Manafii101

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    241
    1. Windows 7
    2. Firefox 13.0.1
    3. Also doesn't work with Chrome
    4. Today was my first attempt logging on in weeks. Previously, it has fuctioned perfectly (when it was online)
    5. Mana101
    6. The "You have been disconnected - possibly because the server was restarted." message always comes up. Here is a c/p of the error messages in the console:
    Show Hide
    [17:34:28.552] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/lobby [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 1147ms]
    [17:34:29.916] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 373ms]
    [17:34:29.924] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim-types.css [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 725ms]
    [17:34:29.932] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/battle.css?v0.6.4 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 743ms]
    [17:34:29.939] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/replayer.css [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 767ms]
    [17:34:29.947] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/font-awesome.css [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 774ms]
    [17:34:29.956] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/jquery-1.7.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 804ms]
    [17:34:29.963] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/autoresize.jquery.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1131ms]
    [17:34:29.971] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/jquery-cookie.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1618ms]
    [17:34:29.979] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/jquery.json-2.3.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1619ms]
    [17:34:29.989] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/soundmanager2.js?v0.6 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1619ms]
    [17:34:29.998] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/battledata.js?v0.7rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1616ms]
    [17:34:30.009] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/pokedex-mini.js?v0.7rc3 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 1618ms]
    [17:34:30.017] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/battle.js?v0.7.9 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2230ms]
    [17:34:30.026] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/sockjs-0.3.min.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2842ms]
    [17:34:30.037] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/teambuilder.js?v0.7.9 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2842ms]
    [17:34:30.045] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/ladder.js?v0.7.1 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2843ms]
    [17:34:30.054] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/sim.js?v0.7.9.2 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2857ms]
    [17:34:30.063] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/learnsets.js?v0.7rc3 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 2857ms]
    [17:34:30.075] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/graphics.js?v0.6.1 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 3473ms]
    [17:34:30.083] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/pokedex.js?v0.7 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4067ms]
    [17:34:30.091] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/formats-data.js?v0.7rc2 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4071ms]
    [17:34:30.098] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/moves.js?v0.7rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4072ms]
    [17:34:30.111] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/items.js?v0.7rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4069ms]
    [17:34:30.118] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/abilities.js?v0.7rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4065ms]
    [17:34:30.126] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/formats.js?v0.7.9 [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 4684ms]
    [17:34:30.135] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/data/typechart.js?v0.6rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 5293ms]
    [17:34:30.143] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/utilichart.js?v0.7rc [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 5295ms]
    [17:34:30.151] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/aliases.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 5298ms]
    [17:34:30.248] Unknown property 'box-sizing'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6:290
    [17:34:30.248] Unknown property '-moz-box-shadow'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6:303
    [17:34:30.249] Error in parsing value for 'background'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6:311
    [17:34:30.249] Error in parsing value for 'filter'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6:315
    [17:34:30.253] Error in parsing value for 'background-image'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim.css?v0.6:1197
    [17:34:30.598] Error in parsing value for 'background'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/sim-types.css:5
    [17:34:31.168] Unknown property 'text-stroke'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/battle.css?v0.6.4:209
    [17:34:31.168] Unknown property 'transform'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/battle.css?v0.6.4:372
    [17:34:31.201] Error in parsing value for 'font-size'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/font-awesome.css:49
    [17:34:31.201] Error in parsing value for 'vertical-align'. Declaration dropped. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/style/font-awesome.css:76
    [17:34:31.524] GET http://www.google-analytics.com/ga.js [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 611ms]
    [17:34:31.539] GET http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/pokemonshowdownbeta.png [HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified 3687ms]
    [17:34:32.270] GET http://www.google-analytics.com/__utm.gif?utmwv=5.3.4&utms=7&utmn=1513772181&utmhn=play.pokemonshowdown.com&utmcs=UTF-8&utmsr=1252x704&utmvp=1252x425&utmsc=24-bit&utmul=en-gb&utmje=1&utmfl=11.3%20r300&utmdt=Showdown!&utmhid=1322671107&utmr=-&utmp=%2Flobby&utmac=UA-26211653-1&utmcc=__utma%3D61629613.118908726.1341789965.1344754998.1344755386.19%3B%2B__utmz%3D61629613.1344755386.19.3.utmcsr%3Dgoogle%7Cutmccn%3D(organic)%7Cutmcmd%3Dorganic%7Cutmctr%3D(not%2520provided)%3B&utmu=qB~ [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 455ms]
    [17:34:33.258] POST http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/action.php [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 2274ms]
    [17:34:35.465] GET http://sim.smogon.com:8000/info [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 659ms]
    [17:34:36.011] GET http://sim.smogon.com:8000/763/s6hrq0u7/websocket [HTTP/1.1 101 Switching Protocols 703ms]
    [17:34:36.716] The connection to ws://sim.smogon.com:8000/763/s6hrq0u7/websocket was interrupted while the page was loading. @ http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/js/sockjs-0.3.min.js:27
  24. Superpowerdude

    Superpowerdude "The Phone-Post King"
    is an official Team Rateris a Smogon Media Contributor
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,349
    Thanks Tobes i will try Google Chrome does it work on Firefox aswell?
  25. mikel

    mikel frizy will carry ocn
    is a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    972
    Works on Firefox perfectly well for me. It seems that Firefox can use a bit more RAM than Chrome, but it really doesn't matter too much.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)